Home » Classroom Management » Classroom reward system

Classroom reward system

I’ve had a request from a fellow blogging teacher to know more about my classroom reward system so here it is in a nutshell! My coworker and I do this as a whole class reward system (he uses paperclips, I use dry blackeyed pea seeds). The S.E.E.D. idea came from a K-8 Teaching magazine several, several years ago-however, my coworker was already using the paperclip system when I moved from Kindergarten to 6th grade last year, and it has ALWAYS worked for him!

Here is the actual explanation for the acronym in a word document:

SEED-travelmanagement

Here’s the way it works:

We MODEL, MODEL, MODEL the 1st week of school our procedures, routines, and rules for our classroom and transitioning times. I mean, we MODEL and PRACTICE OVER and OVER!! Just ask the kids!! 🙂

The actual SEED part of it is for our transition times-For example, anytime that we are in a line outside the classroom(my kids never line up in the classroom, there’s not enough room) whether we are going to the bathroom, lunch, swapping classes, etc. they have to be in a straight line and NOT talking. We always have 2 students that act as hall monitors that are responsible for doing what I, the teacher, would do: Keep them in line and quiet. The hall monitors are responsible for getting a student’s number if they break a rule and writing it in our behavior boxes on the board when we return to the room. (They can remember all of this A LOT better than we can) 🙂

Periodically, the class will earn a seed for good behavior, good transitioning, or when another adult compliments their behavior. We put the seeds in a clear box that I have attached to the classroom wall with velcro. When they reach 20 seeds (hasn’t happened this year yet) then they will receive a reward-maybe a popsicle party, extra time on the playground, movie, etc.

They can also LOSE seeds for misbehavior, and BOY do the get upset with the student or students that cause that to happen! 🙂

Our transition times are REALLY quiet-I’m not saying that we never have to say something to them while they are in line (we all know life is NOT perfect), but it is not a battle! These times are some of our most peaceful throughout our day! 🙂

Right now I think that one of my classes is at 9 seeds while the other class is at about 6 seeds. But let’s just say that I actually don’t reward them like I should or they would have already met the 20 seed requirement! They know that they CAN’T ask for a seed!!!

Hope this explains it a little!

7 thoughts on “Classroom reward system

  1. Thank you for your blog. I enjoyed reading your first person tips, advise and experiences. The SEED behavior management system is a GREAT one and certainly focuses on the positive while providing consequences where necessary. I teach sixth grade and am always looking for fresh ideas and unique perspective!

    Feel free to visit my blog: yoursmarticles.blogspot.com

    • Mrs. Howard-

      Thanks! I visited your blog and want to go back and read more!! Is there anyway that you can add an email subscription button? I have a google reader account, but I haven’t organized it and am loving getting email notifications from my favorite blogs! 🙂

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

