Home » Read and Write 180 » Read and Write 180-Day 45

Read and Write 180-Day 45

Thursday, October 13, 2011

Another good day! We took our English test today, and some of the students turned it in after 4 or 5 minutes! I hope that means they KNEW WHAT THEY WERE DOING!!!!

I’ve had about 16 students sing the Helping Verb song to me for a 100 point grade in English(this was optional)!!!! AND….3 students in my afternoon class asked if they could sing the Preposition song to me for a 100 point grade. Now this was offered to them SEVERAL weeks ago when we were focusing on prepositions, so I told them I would have to think about it. I wasn’t really sure if I was going to let them do it since the time frame that I had offered has passed. Well, at the end of class they asked me if I had decided so I asked them why they know the song NOW after all these weeks. They said……..we have been singing it it ourselves during our english tests so that we could label the prepositions correctly. Well, when they put it that way obviously I couldn’t deny them the chance!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

We finished a chapter in our book-6th Grade Can Really Kill You. They ALWAYS want me to keep reading and not stop I.love.to.keep.them.in.suspense! 🙂 I am hearing some GREAT thinking going on during this read aloud time, and I hope that it carries over to their independent reading. We only have 2 more chapters to go-I think the kids are going to really miss Helen, the main character. I know that I am. But then again, I usually always want books to continue because I LOVE TO READ! 🙂

We read 2 more pages in Old Yeller-we acted out one scene to show what they could be visualizing. We talked about how it is easier to visualize something in a book when the author uses spicy and descriptive language. I think they are getting it! Hope so anyway.

I did more individual conferences today-everything went well but let me tell you about 1 student. Here’s how our conversation went:

Teacher-Tell me about yourself as a reader

Student-I can understand what I read, am a pretty good reader, but have a hard time pronouncing the words

T-You read fine for me. What do you think has made you a better reader?

S-My teacher last year changed my reading tests for me so that I just filled in the bubbles-she marked out some answers

T-So how does that make you a better reader?

S-I made better grades and passed.

T-So what do you do when you are reading that has made you become a better reader?

S-I made good grades last year…..

T-Well, I disagree with you. I think that was a good thing that your teacher did because she helped you make better grades, but we’ve got to figure out something you can do when you read to make you a better reader.

I honestly don’t think she ever understood what I was trying to tell her. AND THEN, I got a new student. Yep, right slap in the middle of this MUCH NEEDED conference!!!! 🙂 At 10:45 am in the morning! Why can’t new students come in at the beginning of the day???????

So we have 24 students in each class. And it seems like reading is what does not come easy for a lot of them. So wish us luck in our journey this year to create critical readers and thinkers. I am open to any suggestions! I actually have some students that I was told could not comprehend, but seem to be doing better than expected! Hurrah!!! 🙂 Hopefully, I will be able to take everyone further along with their reading.

 

2 thoughts on “Read and Write 180-Day 45

    • Jen-

      I haven’t even thought about giving them a quiz on our read aloud-that would be neat to see how they could reflect and write about it. I might need to make one up this weekend!!! 🙂 Have a great Friday tomorrow! 🙂

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

