Home » English Grammar » Read and Write 180-Day 53

Read and Write 180-Day 53

Tuesday, October 25, 2011

We are learning about subject and object pronouns this week in english. We wrote them in a t-chart today-7 on each side. A subject pronoun is the subject of the sentence. An object pronoun receives the action in the sentence. Here’s a picture of the t-chart that I put on the board:

 I tell them not to say the subject pronouns TOO fast because they might mess up and say something they don’t mean to say! They love it when I tell them this! 🙂

I read aloud Lilly’s Purple Plastic Purse again for the 2nd time. We are trying to learn how to analyze a character. And Lilly is indeed a character. If you haven’t read this book-YOU NEED TO! It’s one of those books that will make you laugh out loud! 🙂

So before I read it to them today I told them to write down a few character traits and share them with a partner. Then I told them to check the trait off if they heard me read a part that proved the trait and to write down more traits as they think of them. When we finished this reading they had to write a quick write character analysis of Lilly.

We are going to start our Scott Foresman story “When Crowbar Came” tomorrow. So today we activated our schema about crows. They wrote down their schema and shared with a partner. Then the partners got together with the rest of their row and shared. They decided on 2 important pieces of knowledge to write on sticky notes. We put these on our chart.

I read them a read aloud story from Scott Foresman about crows and they took notes as I read on things they thought were important. I can’t wait for them to read this story and realize just how smart crows really are.

We had almost a complete hour left in each class to devote to Read to Self and Work on Writing and individual conferences. I met with lots of students today! One of my boys had chosen to read voraciously (all the time a lot) as his goal to work on. He has been recording when he reads on a sticky note and here is his proof! 🙂

 I was so proud of Courdarious that I just had to take a picture of this!!! He tries so hard!!!! 🙂 I taught him in Kindergarten and am so glad that I have him again in the 6th grade!

So it was another great day! I even was able to fill out my Partners in Education grant application, make a copy of it, and get it to the post office to be postmarked by 4:00. I started at 3:25!!!!! Can you say PROCRASTINATOR???????????????????? 🙂

Then drove 40 miles to Alex. City to help my stepson upgrade his southern linc phone to a DROID! I.want.one.now!!!! 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Read and Write 180-Day 53

  1. I am so glad to hear that you use picture books too in your classroom! I am a huge fan of doing this and my kids love when I read to them. However, I have gotten a lot of crud from the other ELA teachers in 6th grade because they think those belong at elementary school. So far from the truth though in my opinion.

    Katie
    Adventures of a 6th Grade Teacher

    • Katie-

      Picture books are the BOMB! 🙂 I am actually going to require that my 6th graders read 10 picture books this year (I think I’ll do this after Christmas break), and they are going to have to analyze each one! Picture books usually have so much good vocabulary and strategies can be easily taught through them!!! Glad we agree-you are right, most other intermediate teachers do not!

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

