Home » Comprehension strategies » Read and Write 180-Day 72

Read and Write 180-Day 72

Tuesday, November 29, 2011

This is what I want in my classroom.

Β 24 Kermits (or students) in each class who gaze at me so attentively with a smile like they are thinking that I am the best thing since sliced bread because I am such a great teacher and they can’t wait to get to my class everyday so they can learn and become wonderful readers and writers and they always do their homework and think while they read and study and try their very best……Oh, wait-was I dreaming???? Apparently so, because in my afternoon class when we started reading the 1st 1/2 of our reading story that they were supposed to have read last night for homework, when I asked what kind of person the main character was I (seriously) only had about 10-12 that could tell me!!!!!!!!!!!! I don’t even give much homework because I think that family time is important as well as just plain downtime!!!! Why is it so hard to read 6 pages??????? Especially since the cold hard fact of the matter is that I sent out D/F letters with almost 1/2 of my class today!!! 21 out of 48! What are they not understanding????? I really do want to help them, but they have to be willing to help themselves! OK-that’s the end of my soapbox for now! πŸ™‚

Our sentence today that we labeled was ” The mangy, old dog grudgingly went after the almost new ball”. The words mangy and grudgingly threw a couple of them-I’m not talking parts of speech-I mean they couldn’t read them. Sigh. I am hoping that these daily sentences will expose them to some great vocabulary and maybe some phonics skills as well. A few of them figured out that the word almost was an adverb!! Kudos to them! πŸ™‚

We started putting our notes that we had written yesterday into paragraph form for our reindeer job application. We will continue working Β on them tomorrow. One of my students has the last name of Daunhauer. He asked me if he could change it to be “Deerhauer”!! HAHA! Of course I said yes!

We talked about our question of the day-What do you know about Kyoko as a person? Well, those of us who did our homework last night talked about it! πŸ™‚ It almost makes me want to send the kids who don’t do their homework to the hall while the rest of us analyze the story and prepare ourselves for the reading test! Wait-I wasn’t supposed to go there again!

We worked with our 5 whole vocabulary words today by making a 4 column chart. They wrote the words-I gave them the definitions-they worked in groups to come up with synonyms, antonyms, and sentences.

Ahhhh-on to small group instruction. Today we focused on our vocabulary words-reading them, finding words within them, paying attention to the phonics aspect as well as their meanings. Then we worked on our fluency. I picked a part of the story ( a very important part of the story), and I read it twice with both times being NOT fluent. Once where I read too fast with no emotion or pausing for punctuation. The 2nd time I struggled to read the words and replaced words with incorrect words. Then I read it a 3rd time fluently. We talked about how both of the non fluent readings break down our comprehension. I think they really get that. With my 1st class we had time for them to partner read (fluently) while I listened to them. We didn’t have time with my 2nd class-in fact I didn’t have time to call back both groups of 4 so I just called all 8 of them back at the same time. While they were on the rug and we were talking I noticed 2 students paying more attention to us than what they were supposed to be doing so I told them they were welcome to join us. They actually did. πŸ™‚ Tomorrow we will focus on comprehension during our small group time. Today was cut a little short because I gave out graded papers and the dreaded D/F letters.

Here is a picture of our predictions chart that we made yesterday about our reading story “Learning to Swim”. I think that what I will do next time so that we can go deeper with our predictions is 1st of all make a bigger chart. πŸ™‚ AND-add a column where we can track our evidence of rejecting or confirming our predictions. Also, keep interacting with the chart while we read the story so that they can realize that predictions are not just made at the beginning of a text, but the whole way through!

Over and out!

 

8 thoughts on “Read and Write 180-Day 72

  1. I think it’s time you load them up with homework just to catch up wiith what they are suppose to be doing ….don’t assign homework that you have to grade and mark up.

    • Ruth-

      It has truly been a discouraging year so far with their apathy, laziness, etc. Of course, I’m not talking about all of them-some of them try hard and do well, some of them try hard and don’t do so well (these are the ones that my heart goes out to and I REALLY want to help), but literally half of them just don’t care!!! We have even had 2 parents call us and ask us when we are going to stay after school and tutor their children-then they don’t show up for parent conferences and their children are the ones who don’t bring back graded papers, homework, don’t try in class, etc. It would be laughable if I wasn’t the one involved!!! πŸ™‚

      • Oh heavens no its not laughable at all….I am going thru the same thing at homeschool but we have the flexibilty to change it up but sometimes we still with standards and yes I load them up with extra work…and it does help me! Much success!

      • Ruth-

        But you know what? About 3 weeks ago I started making work packets for them to do in class and at home-the amount of work was determined by the previous week’s reading test grade so the D/F students had a PILE of work!!!! Some of them didn’t even complete these each week! They had to miss Fun Friday outside time. Now it’s too cold to go outside so I don’t know what I’m going to take away from them. My coworker and I have talked about wanting to mix up the 2 classes and put the ones who try in 1 class and the ones who don’t care in the other class. We wish that was legal!!! πŸ™‚

  2. Girl, it’s NO wonder you’re stressed – YIKES! Thanks for stopping by the Corner and visiting. I am thoroughly enjoying your reflections and your sense of humor!!! Hang in there; things can only get better. I wonder what your kids would say if you asked them what their goals for the rest of the year are? Just a thought . . . though it sounds like they might not be school-related . . . sending positive vibes your way! Barbara

    • Barbara-

      That’s a good idea. I might have them write about their goals next week (I’ll be out Thursday and Friday at a conference-WOOHOO!). Then I might have them take it home and get their parents to work with them on creating a plan for them to meet their goals, sign it and send it back so I’ll know the parents saw it!!! Thanks for the idea!! πŸ™‚

      • Writing down your goals are important! Also responsibility and accountability….showing up to school without your homework is the same as showing up to work without that project your boss asked you to do and you didn’t have it done…you don’t get paid and you won’t have a job for long? I know with my kids when I put it like that… I get better results and always ask them to reflect back on their goals sheet. Yes, I need to remind them alot but eventually I know in my heart of hearts that they will “get-it.” Keep smiling!

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

