Home » English Grammar » Read and Write 180-Day 73

Read and Write 180-Day 73

Wednesday, November 30, 2011

I have come to a conclusion. MY planning period each day is not really MY planning period. πŸ™‚ Let me just give you some background knowledge about my character so you can sympathize with me-teehee! I am a procrastinator by nature. From birth. All my life. Haven’t changed. Soooooo, I tend to wait til the last minute to get things ready for class-like for that day! πŸ™‚ So it seems like each day during my planning period somebody needs me or needs something-yesterday a parent called to speak to me, and I told the office to take a message because I was copying work packets. The parent decided to hop in the car and come visit. Planning period-gone. Today, I got a new student. Planning period-gone. I think I need to start coming every weekend to get EVERYTHING ready for the week so I can sit outside my room each day during my planning period holding a sign that says, “Will work for you!” Now don’t get me wrong-I want parents to want to be involved and communicate with me! And new students are just a reality. But it’s ALL THE TIME! πŸ™‚ Moving off that soapbox now.

I’m really thinking my kids are getting the hang of parts of speech after 15 weeks of it! πŸ™‚ I only hope that what we are doing with these sentences each day will pay off in their writing. Here’s the sentence we labeled today.

Β This week we have started creating our own sentences as well that follow the pattern. I let them work in groups to make up their sentence-they are VERY engaged with this! Hooray! Here is a picture of our 6 sentences from my afternoon class.

Β 4 out of 6 groups used the verb “ran”. Booooring! They couldn’t believe I told them that! So then they said they could have used: jumped, leaped, rolled, skipped. One student said “sprinted”. That made me happy! I’m thinking that if I had been devoting a lot of time to writing this year we could have had lists of words that could be substituted for the boring ones! Maybe we’ll start that soon.

They worked on their reindeer job application rough draft again today-we will be finishing those up sometime around the beginning of next week, and I’ll take pictures of them. I told them I was going to hang them in the hall. I’m thinking I might have a contest and let the 4th and 5th graders vote on the one they think is the best, and I’ll get some kind of prize for the winner. Sounds cool, huh?

We finished reading the 2nd half of our story today-my homeroom class (or maybe it was my afternoon class!) said they liked this story and several students agreed. YEA! I hope that shows up on the test Friday! I showed them how to partner read with each other because they are going to do that tomorrow with the entire story, and I won’t be in school. I’m at a conference for 3 days (sitting in my hotel room right now as a matter of fact!).

We caught up with our truckerbuddy emails today-he and his wife are going to visit us and bring their truck for the kids to see! The kids are so excited. I better get on the ball with setting that up because we only have 14 days left before Christmas break (but who’s counting?). πŸ™‚

 

2 thoughts on “Read and Write 180-Day 73

  1. But I enjoyed that email!!!! When I first started reading it I thought, uh-oh-that’s exactly what I do with my classes!!! πŸ™‚ I tell them we walk in quiet lines to not disturb other classes in their rooms and to not have traffic jams in the hallway and on the sidewalk. But I really wish the other teachers did the same thing, because I feel like we play “dodge-kids” all the time! πŸ™‚

    I am ALWAYS grateful for your encouraging words! πŸ™‚

  2. Shannon–thank you so much for your comment on my post yesterday! I’m glad I’m not alone–sounds like we are in the same boat. πŸ™‚ I’m glad you are joining me in comitting to a positive attitude–we can do it!!! (how many days til break again…??) πŸ˜‰

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

