Home » A Book For You » Ever been really disappointed with a book?

Ever been really disappointed with a book?

I had already read Pictures of Hollis Woods by Patricia Reilly Giff and loved it. However, I was very disappointed with her book, Eleven. First of all, I found it hard to follow. The writing seemed to be very choppy, and I just could NOT focus! Having said that, there are not too many books that I just abandon so I didn’t want to abandon this one either. So I trudged on. Read it to the end. And was disappointed that the ending wasn’t more of a BOOM! ending. So that disappointed me as well.

The back of the book made it seem like it was going to be MYSTERIOUS, and the other “hook” for me was of course the part about Sam not being able to read and Caroline not being able to stop reading. Well, Sam couldn’t read, but that was an exaggeration on the part of Caroline!

I’ll end my review with this-I am going to read more of Patricia’s books because of my great experience with Pictures of Hollis Woods, but this one will be a hard one to sell to my students. I guess I’ll just give it to my most gifted reader and tell her I want her opinion of it. She loves to read behind me! 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Ever been really disappointed with a book?

  1. Hi Shannon:

    I felt the same way about this book. It had great promise and, for the first half, I thought it would be great. Then it just sort of… fell apart. I liked Sam, and I remember the intrigue of looking through the attic… oh well. It wasn’t terrible, it just wasn’t stellar. Glad you liked Hollis Woods. That’s on my list too!

    Glad the family illnesses are improving. Still wishing you easy days…

    Kim
    Finding JOY in 6th Grade

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

