Home » Book Reviews » Mrs. Perfect-Chick Lit Book Review

Mrs. Perfect-Chick Lit Book Review

Yes, I read chick lit, and I am not ashamed. Well, maybe a little. I do want to read and enjoy the classics. One day I will. Hopefully. But for now when I want to escape into the adult world of books I tend to gravitate toward mystery suspense, romance, and chick lit. And I LOVE IT! 🙂

Mrs. Perfect by Jane Porter          Published-2008           Length-417 pages

I’m going to be honest about this book. Within the first couple of chapters I wasn’t really loving Taylor Young, the main character, or the setting which happened to be a neighborhood of multi-million dollar homes. It seemed to have too much snobbery even to the point of sounding ridiculous!

But hold on-I kept with it. And ended up liking Taylor and the story. It was an easy read, very easy. Taylor turned out to have more character than I could see in the beginning, and I ended up being on her side!

Here’s a little book description from amazon:

  As a young California girl growing up in a blue collar neighborhood, Taylor Young dreamed of being popular, beautiful, and acquiring a wardrobe to die for. Not to mention marrying a handsome, successful man and living happily ever after in a gorgeous house with three wonderful children. Now, at 36, Taylor has reached the pinnacle of her dreams, but is it all about to unravel? As the new school year approaches, Taylor prepares herself for playing the perfect alpha mom: organizing class activities, fund-raising, and chairing the school auction. But the horror! Her archrival, bohemian mom Marta Zinsser, is named Head Room Mom of Taylor’s daughter’s fifth grade class. As tensions rise at committee meetings and school activities, the two rivals seem to be destined for a final confrontation. But as Taylor plans her next move, she is floored by a more serious blow at home-her husband has been secretly unemployed for the past six months. With her posh lifestyle crumbling, Taylor struggles to maintain her alpha image-but could Marta, who cares little about appearances, be her only true friend?

Taylor and Nathan are struggling to hang on to their house, their relationship, and their future. It’s all about money. It always has been. But, sometimes money is not the answer.

In the beginning Taylor CAN’T STAND Marta. Especially the way she looks and like she doesn’t have a care in the world. And then Marta is chosen to be Head Room Mom! Taylor almost comes unglued. Here’s a sentence from the book that divulges how she feels.

“That’s like making SpongeBob SquarePants president of the United States.” What a comparison!

There was a vivid description of Taylor’s friend, Lucy, and her appearance that I especially loved. You have to know that Lucy is going through a separation and does not have custody of her kids so she is very distraught and haggard. And I do sympathize with her, but this use of comparative language to describe her face is great.

“Look at me! I’m a wreck. I haven’t slept in days. The bags under my eyes are too big for carry-on.” Priceless! 🙂

I give this book 4 out of 5 stars.

My last thoughts on this book: If you are looking for an easy read to escape the daily pressures of your own life-you have found the book that can make that happen.

 

 

 

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

