Home » What Are You Reading » It’s Monday-What are you reading?

It’s Monday-What are you reading?

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? From Picture Books to YA!
It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journeys. It is a great way to recap what you read and/or reviewed the previous week and to plan out your reading and reviews for the upcoming week. It’s also a great chance to see what others are reading right now…who knows, you might discover that next “must read” book!
Jen and Kellee over at Teach Mentor Texts host the kid lit version of this meme each Monday.
I read SOOOOOO many books this week so I am just going to list them for you instead of going into detail about them. 🙂
Ivy and Bean-Annie Barrows
Mrs. Perfect-Jane Porter
A Stolen Life-Jaycee Dugard
Buried-Robin MacCready
Easiest read-Ivy and Bean: They are such fun loving and cute characters. Kids will like them.
Hardest read-A Stolen Life: This book was one of the most difficult ones I have ever read, and I’m not referring to complexity or higher level writing-just content. I STAYED mad throughout this book at the couple that kidnapped Jaycee and held her prisoner for 18 years.
Most unique read-Buried: This book had a different twist to it with the main character acting out her OCD in ways that evoked my sympathy for her. And made me want to buy some sticky notes and write reminders on them!
I also read 57 picture books at the library. Yes, I said 57! Pick yourself back up off the floor-I know, it made me almost fall out, too! 🙂 See, my reading goal for 2011 was to read 211 books and I hadn’t quite made it. Soooo-I made a trip to the library, sat on the floor for 2 1/2 hours and met my goal by reading 57 picture books. 🙂
What’s on my list for this week? Well, I just picked up The Hunger Games and LOVE it so far-page 16 right now. I think I want to try and read the 2 sequels to this before I go back to school Wednesday. I have also started reading The Story of Mankind as part of the #nerdbery challenge that Mr. Schu over at Mr. Schu Reads  is hosting along with Colby at sharpread. I also have started reading (I know, that’s too many books to be reading at the same time!) a book that I won in a giveaway- The Jinson Twins Science Detectives and the Mystery of Echo Lake by Steven Zeichner. I’ll also try to read a couple of more picture books to stay caught up in the #nerdcaldecott challenge hosted by Laura at Lib Laura 5. Whew!!! What a week I have planned! We’ll see if I stay on course or veer off the chosen path-which I have been known to do! 🙂
What have you read? What is on your reading horizon?

4 thoughts on “It’s Monday-What are you reading?

  1. Busy, busy, busy! That is a lot of reading. I get so excited to hear someone is reading Hunger Games for the first time. I love the series. I grabbed The Story of Mankind from the library – I’m doing the no-stress version of the #nerdbery…which means I may wait a while to jump in on reading some of the titles I haven’t! Good luck to you!

  2. I need to read some Ivy and Bean. I know the kiddos love them and I know my niece has loved the ones I’ve sent her … but with all of the books on the TBR pile it’s just never made it to the top. *insert embarrassed face here* Enjoy the rest of Hunger Games!

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

