Home » A Book For You » Book Review-The Hunger Games

Book Review-The Hunger Games

Fabulous. Exciting. Breathtaking. One of a kind. Do you get my point? 🙂

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins                Genre: Dystopia

Pages: 374              Published: 2008

First of all let me say-Why did I wait so long to read this book? It’s been out for 3 years! So I finished it in a day and am now on the 2nd book-Catching Fire. Let’s hope it’s as good as the first one.

Summary from goodreads.com

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. 

Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister Primrose, regards it as a death sentence when she steps forward to take her sister’s place in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before — and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that will weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

Katniss is a tough character who has to use that toughness to fight her way through the Hunger Games. To be honest I have never read many books that deal with the world different than we know it. It’s never been my thing. This book has changed my mind. It has opened my mind to the possibilities of what our world could become like one day. Really. The only other book that I’ve read about government control is Among The Hidden by Margaret Haddix where the government controls the population.

The Hunger Games is one of those books that you just can’t put down for fear of not finding out what is going to happen. It has little twists and turns throughout that couldn’t have been foreseen. Even though I think that Katniss sometimes isn’t emotional enough or sensitive enough, I rooted for her all the way.

So I give this book 8 out of 5 stars. Oh, wait-I can’t do that! 🙂 5 of 5 stars

An epic story of survival and letting go. Read it. Today. 🙂

Movie Trailer: http://www.thehungergamesmovie.com/index2.html

8 thoughts on “Book Review-The Hunger Games

  1. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE. Started them at the very end of the year before last – finished Hunger Games in about a day and a half, and started in on Catching Fire immediately. Stayed up until about 3 or 4 in the morning reading, and was lucky the next morning was the last day of school. So, I did what I never do – I put on a movie for the students so I could keep reading the book (shhhhh – don’t tell anyone). Then it was a long wait until the end of August when Mockingjay came out. Was at the book store bright and early to get my copy. I’ve reread them all again in anticipation for the movie coming out (March 23 – my birthday – it’s like my very own birthday present, and the sitter is already booked!). I’ve made my husband read them (he loved them too and we NEVER share the same taste in books). I’ve made my coworkers and coworkers’ children read them. Just before the Christmas break I had a parent come in wondering if I had other copies of the books because her youngest son in my class was reading it, and talked it up so much to his older brother, that he wanted to read them, too.
    Enjoy, Shannon!!!

    Jen
    Runde’s Room

    • Jen-

      I think I like them as much as you!! I was talking to someone on facebook tonight about the movie coming out! I REALLY hope I can get some of my reluctant readers hooked with them!!! Goodness knows I need something to hook them. 🙂

      Enjoy the movie when you see it and have a WONDERFUL birthday March 23!! 🙂

  2. If you enjoy this series, you should read Life As We Knew It by Susan Pfeffer. One of my students gave it to me and I have to tell you it was a page turner! I DID NOT want to put it down. I won’t tell you any more than it is a real life changer!

    • Kathy-

      I looked Life As We Knew It up on goodreads.com, and I had already added it to my books to read list! 🙂 Now you’ve made me REALLY want to read it-might be making a trip to Books-a-Million this weekend! 🙂

  3. I’m reading the Hunger Games with my class after reading it myself during Thanksgiving break. The girls relate to Katniss and the boys are drawn in my the games to the death. I have just started reading Catching Fire and I’ve mentioned maybe reading all three to my class. Someone told me that there’s some more adult themes in the other books so I might not be able to read them aloud, but at least I’m getting the kids into reading. I have some that have even bought District 12 t-shirts and wear them to class!!

    • Jessica-

      Several people have told me that the boys usually love The Hunger Games. I am going to do a booktalk and show them a trailer this Friday. I hope I get a good reaction-I have SO many 6th graders that HATE to read AND read Way below grade level. I’ve got to try something to get them a little excited about reading or at least willing to try and find a good book. 🙂 I love that about them buying district 12 t-shirts-I want one. 🙂 I’m going to google them now!

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

