Home » randomness » A Rainy Sunday

A Rainy Sunday

Rainy and relaxing. I was supposed to run the virtual Mother’s Day 10k that I registered for. Didn’t happen. Rained all day in this part of Alabama! ๐Ÿ™‚ Could I possibly set my alarm for 5am and actually GET OUT OF THE BED AND RUN? Ha! ๐Ÿ™‚

Here’s what I did do.

Mother’s Day Breakfast with my daughter at church. Yum-yum! Eggs, grits, bacon, cheese, biscuit. I’m thinking I should have gone ahead and run IN THE RAIN!

Sunday School-I have not been to Sunday School in over 20 years. Go ahead-slap me. I really enjoyed it!

Church

ย Here we are after church. (I need a hairstyle!)

My husband cooked lunch for us-hamburger helper, mashed potatoes, english peas, rolls. Thank you, Joe! By the way-he has gotten a job at Nemak in Sylacauga and returned home to us. He had been working in Georgia during the week for over 4 years and only at home ย on weekends (6 days a week since last summer). He is starting night shift TONIGHT. 12 HOURS SHIFTS. PRAY FOR US! ๐Ÿ™‚ Really!

After lunch my daughter and I went into town (25 miles away) so she could job hunt. So exhausting. For me. I would think she would know how to fill out a job application by now. OMG! 2 of the places are hiring so I’m keeping my fingers crossed. She graduates from high school in 2 weeks AND NEEDS A JOB!

So we were driving through one parking lot, and this is the makeshift of a tailgate that we saw. Only in Alabama! Pretty crafty, huh?

Let’s sum up my Mother’s Day. All 3 kids told me Happy Mother’s Day. Husband cooked lunch for me. Got 2 cards. My best friend texted me. One of my kids bought me windchimes, picture frame, and welcome sign. And I appreciated ALL of it mind you! I really did!

But check this out! Happy Mother’s Day to myself from myself!

New shoes! Kid shoes-60.00 bucks!

ย New dress for church. 15.00 at Cato’s!

Will not tell you what I had for supper, but it’s yellow and has to be POPPED to taste good. ๐Ÿ™‚ 2 bags-shhhhh.

That was my rainy and relaxing day. About to lay on the couch and read “Broken” by Karin Slaughter-love her books!

How was your Mother’s Day?

Did you run today?

Did you read today?

 

4 thoughts on “A Rainy Sunday

  1. Those shoes are so cute!!! I used Sunday as my rest day, too much going on and rained all day here in Georgia too! We were either at church or my Mother in laws house for lunch and hanging out with family. Later, I laid on the couch in my pjs watching Cupcake Wars and eating chocolate cereal for supper. I am rereading the Southern Sisters series by Anne George. Good luck to your daughter in her job search. My oldest son is 20 and I thought he would be homeless before he found something:( He is now a 911 dispatcher…I knew he would be involved in the police somehow…just wasnt sure which side of the bars he would be on;)

    • ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t hardly ever reread a book because there are so many that I haven’t read the 1st time yet. That’s so funny about your son, and guess what my bachelor’s degree is in???? Criminal Justice!!! I worked for 2 years as a 911 dispatcher with the Auburn, AL city police dept!!! Were we sisters in another life????!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. You won’t believe this but my only sister, Shannon, lives in Alabama. I worked as a 911 dispatcher for the City Of Fairburn Ga. I met my husband there!!

    • Libby,

      This is too funny!! It will interesting to find out how much other stuff we have in common!! ๐Ÿ™‚

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

