Home » Science » Science Guide-O-Rama

Science Guide-O-Rama

I’ll get to the science part in a minute, but first you must listen to this song by Justin Beiber. He’s singing to his mom, and YES it brought tears to my eyes and down my cheeks. 🙂 My daughter played it for me this evening after we got back from her Senior Celebration Dinner hosted by the parents/grandparents of one of her classmates.

Just listen.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GzlDn8YfvVY

Now for the science stuff. I will be teaching 5th and 6th grade science next year instead of reading, and I have to tell you I am very excited! 🙂

I’m so excited that I am going ahead and teaching science for the rest of this year to my current 6th graders so I can figure out what I want to do/time/what engages them, etc. (Always thinking ahead!)

I want to activate their schema about the topic, The Nine Planets. (Yes, this is an older science textbook-aren’t they all???) Actually, it is an 8th grade textbook, but I won’t get on that soapbox tonight. 🙂

I’m going to give them a sticky note to write down 1 piece of schema. We will share it and put it on the board and leave it there for the remainder of the lesson. I guess we can add to it as we learn.

I want to really capture their attention at the beginning of a lesson-you know that “hook”. Of course, I have grand ideas and visions of experiments and such, but seeing as the old pocketbook budget doesn’t allow for much of that 🙂 I will have to resort to video clips and things of that nature.

Here’s one from National Geographic that I am planning on showing them to introduce our lesson: http://video.nationalgeographic.com/video/science/space-sci/solar-system/solar-system-sci/

I’m thinking that I will show them the video the 1st time to hook them, and then show it a 2nd time to have them take notes? Not real sure about that.

I created a sort of study guide for them to interact with as they read the lesson. It’s known as a Guide-O-Rama. It’s purpose is to give them a focus as they read AND to help them interact with the text actively instead of just reading/word calling to say they read the lesson. I also added the vocabulary that I want to draw their attention to and understand and the objectives for the lesson as well as a place at the bottom for them to take notes either while they are reading or when they finish.

Science Guide-O-Rama

I’m anxious to see how the lesson goes tomorrow. If there’s anything that I’m truly bad at as a teacher, it is TIME MANAGEMENT!!!!! After 8 years of teaching you would think that I would have improved. No. I have not. I try to estimate how long each activity will last, but never really know until we do it! THAT’S why I’m wanting to try the science lessons out with my class this year to “sort of” have an idea for next year! And the hardest thing is-you guessed it-knowing how long it’s going to take each student to read the lesson. There are so many ranges of readers in each class. AND-as a former kindergarten teacher I feel the need to CONSTANTLY be doing something or saying something-I think I mess up their concentration sometimes and make things last longer because of that! 🙂

I will try to be SILENT tomorrow as they read the lesson. It’s only 4 pages and not full pages. Maybe I will last. 🙂

Tune in tomorrow night to see how it all went. We have Elementary Awards Day in the morning so that will be one kink in our schedule. 🙂

How do you actively engage your students when they are reading informational text?

How do you figure out time management?

 

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

