Home » English Grammar » Bio Poems in English

Bio Poems in English

Last week we made “bio” poems about ourselves. Really, I guess they should be called “auto-bio” poems. πŸ™‚

The kids had a writing frame that they had to follow-it was very simple. I got it from Mrs. Gold’s website which is awesome! Here is a link to the bio poem frame on her website:Β http://www.mrsgoldsclass.com/BackToSchoolIdeas.htm

Instead of having my kids put their poem on their silhouettes, I just had them put it on plain white copy paper and decorate around their poem.

Here is a picture of the one that I did to show them as an example.

Β Can you tell I love color? And rainbows?

I took my favorite ones and some of my students put them in the hall today. Now mind you, they are my favorites because of the decoration not the actual poem. I’m a little shallow minded this close to the end of the school year! πŸ™‚

Don’t you love the designs??

So creative!!

We had our elementary awards day today-which by the way threw a kink into our schedule! This time of the year is so crazy!! It makes me crazy! πŸ™‚

Here’s a picture of all the 6th graders who received an award!

I know I said I would let you know all about our science lesson today, and yes I knew about the awards day, but our pe time was different which threw me off schedule, and then we went outside for a rather “long” time today. πŸ™‚

We ended up not switching classes today, but what we did with my homeroom class went very well I thought!

1. We activated our schema by writing on a sticky note anything that we already know about the planets. They put their sticky note on the bulletin board and had to read it aloud to the class. As they did this, I listed their schema in a list on the whiteboard. Each time someone repeated something that another student had already said I just put a check mark beside it instead of writing it again. This is what MOST of the students already know-There are 8 planets, and Pluto is not a planet! There were several students who knew things about the composition of the planets (gases, rings, oxygen, etc.), but not the majority of the class. πŸ™‚ There is work to do! πŸ™‚

2. We watched the National Geographic video (about 3 minutes long) about our solar system. I had the students draw 8 planets on a sheet of paper (randomly-not in order). They had to take notes throughout the video by writing facts down inside or beside the planets. I played the video twice. πŸ™‚

That’s all we got to do. This is what I have learned so far-

1. I am going to have to teach the kids how to listen and take notes “quickly”. I’ll make sure I do this the 1st week of school next year.

2. I am going to have to limit our discussions in science. Boy, do they want to share and ask questions and discuss it all. πŸ™‚ This is a good thing, but I’m going to have to build in a little time each day for this-otherwise I will just stress myself out trying to cover too much!

My best friend who teaches 4th grade brought in a baby bird that her kids found yesterday on the playground. I will post pictures later this week because I am too tired to do it now. πŸ™‚

How do you keep your students from straying too far off the guided path??

 

2 thoughts on “Bio Poems in English

  1. We just did bio poems last week, too! Great minds think alike!!! We still have 32 days left of school (I’ve been counting down for awhile) … it’s more about doing activities that will keep ME from going crazy right now!

    Jen
    Runde’s Room

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

