Home » Book Reviews » Tears of a Tiger Book Review

Tears of a Tiger Book Review

Tears of a Tiger by Sharon Draper

This young adult book caught me by surprise. I have already read one other book by Sharon Draper-Out of My Mind (which was phenomenal by the way!!), and I guess I expected this one to be similar to that one. Nope. Now don’t get me wrong-this book was a good read. It was mostly written in conversation style with a few letters thrown in. It wasn’t hard to read or hard to understand. Nothing like that. It dealt with painful issues that people (especially teenagers) go through in life. (And you know I LOVE reading about real life things!). However, the main character in the story was also dealing with feelings of oppression in a racial way. A lot of anger was involved in this respect. And I guess if I’m going to be truly honest, it made me uncomfortable. It did make me see things from the perspective of a minority which is always a good thing. But, it still seemed over the top for me. Andy seemed to think that white people had it out for him and his buddies, and I just didn’t see how that helped, enhanced, or added to the main story.

Moving right along.

Goodreads summary:

After a car accident kills Robert, Andy’s best friend and teammate on the Hazelwood High Tigers, Andy doesn’t know if he can go on. He’s consumed with guilt for driving the night of the accident after a long evening of drinking and partying. With perceptiveness and compassion,Sharon M. Draper portrays an African-American teenager who feels driven to consider suicide in the wake of a devastating tragedy.

I had not read this summary or any summary about the book before reading the book with the exception of the back cover which didn’t reveal what this summary above revealed. So even though I pretty much knew where the story was heading, I was still sort of shocked when it happened. Like a punch in the gut kind of feeling.

Andy was trying to deal with his feelings like any teenager would, but it just wasn’t working. And there were so many signals that he gave off because of his depression that were missed by the adults in his life-typical huh?

I think this book is an EXCELLENT book for all young adults. It might just be the save that some of them need in life.

I give it 3 out of 5 stars– a very likeable read and one that I am glad to have read.

I also found a cool glogster poster that someone made about the book and wanted to share.

Have you read this book?

Have you read any other books by Sharon Draper?

 

2 thoughts on “Tears of a Tiger Book Review

  1. Never heard of this one but it sounds like a powerful story. I try hard not to read summaries of books right before reading them. If it got added to my wishlist at some point it’s fair game – i like being surprised sometimes.

    I think I would have a hard time relating to the MC of this book but it would interesting to see how he deals with what life gives him.

    Great review!

    • Thanks Emily!!! Sharon Draper is a superb author from what I have heard-I’m going to try another one of hers eventually!

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

