Home » running info » Runner’s High

Runner’s High

Is it a myth? Can it be achieved? Check out this article on the research behind a runner’s high:

http://caloriecount.about.com/blog/partners/truth-runners-high-b572000?utm_source=newsletter&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=newsletter_20120603&utm_term=title1

I can honestly say that there have been a few times when running that I felt like I could go on and on and on……that was my runner’s high. I can also honestly say that it has NEVER happened in the 1st mile or even the 2nd! πŸ™‚

The 1st mile is always the hardest for me. My knees are working out the kinks. My lungs are wheezing. In general, my entire body is hurling some severe cuss words at me. πŸ™‚ I usually just ignore them and keep trucking.

The most evident runner’s high that I ever felt was the time when I ran 6.5 miles. Seriously, the only reason I stopped was because I was supposed to be helping my husband Β in the yard and felt obligated to stop. I really think I could have kept going-not sure how long I would have held out, but it would be interesting to try that again. Summer bucket list?

Have you ever experienced a runner’s high?

10 thoughts on “Runner’s High

  1. OMG!! That 1st mile makes me want to lay down in the middle of the street and do the ugly cry! I’m glad to hear that it’s not just me! I always feel so much better around mile 3. I am only up to 5 miles but I have had those runs where I feel like I could keep going and going. Everything is smooth and flowing, my body and my mind..the perfect high!

      • I am planning on doing a 10k the end of July so I am slowly working up to 6.5 I just started running 5 at the end of May. I am SO bad about not working on my speed..I am slow.,I have a 5k on June 16 so I need to speed my 5k time up. I am trying to run 5 miles on 3 days, run 3.5 on 2 days (work on speed) and on Sundays I usually just go for an hour walk. I am dreaming about a half for next year,maybe;) let me know if you find a good training plan.

      • Libby,

        I don’t work on my speed either. I think I have done intervals like twice. πŸ™‚ I’m a slow runner! I found a half plan on runner’s world and am going to “try” to do it. I’m actually starting on it this week-I’m starting on week 4 since the 1st 3 weeks look like I have pretty much done them! I’ll write a post about it later this week-when I get up the nerve to officially announce that I’m in training. LOL!

  2. Sadly, I haven’t experienced it in a very long time, because I’ve been limiting my walks at 3 miles . . . but when I did a biathlon back in the day, I definitely could have kept going. It’s AmAzInG how opened your mind gets when you’re in those moments of natural high . . . PERFECT think time. Thanks for the reminder; I may have to follow your lead and try to attain that again!!

  3. That is why I am such a bad runner. I can never get past the first mile. who am I kidding I can’t get past the first 1/4 mile…lol. I will still to walking.

    Btw. welcome to the challenge I am so happy you are joining us. And I hope you get to that runners high a lot of times during this challenge.

  4. Pingback: Summer Time in Texas Means: « WriteRunner3

  5. Pingback: Safety Tips For Runners « WriteRunner3

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

