Home » running info » National Running Day 2012

National Running Day 2012

Lace up those running shoes and get to running. Tomorrow, Wednesday, June 6th is National Running Day. Run for the love of it! πŸ™‚

http://www.runningday.org/

I’m trying to figure out when I’m going to fit in a run tomorrow. I’m working at a convenience store(gotta love a part-time job during the summer!) from 8-5 and meeting my best friend at 5:30 to eat dinner. Hmmmm…..

Here are my 2 dilemmas:

1. I’m NOT a morning person. I already have to get up at 6:45 am to get ready and drive to the store. HOW on earth can I get up any earlier??????

2. I’m NOT running near dark EVER again!!!!! See my facebook post to find out why!Β http://www.facebook.com/shannon.d.clark.5Β It involved a COPPERHEADSNAKEITHOUGHTIWASGOINGTOTRULYHAVEAHEARTATTACK.

What to do? What to do?

Anybody have any suggestions???? πŸ™‚

While you are figuring out how to help me with this crisis I want to show you how hot it was today while I was running my 5 miles in 1 hour and 26 seconds-OMG!

Yeah, pretty hot! πŸ™‚

But at least I didn’t see any snakes this time-UNLIKE last night’s run!! It took 12 hours to find my resting heart rate after that run! πŸ™‚

We had our 1st track meeting tonight-36 kids have signed up so far! You might not think that’s a big deal, but let me tell you-we only have about 180 kids 7th-12th grade so what percentage is that??? I don’t do math so you’ll have to figure it out. πŸ™‚

I’m looking forward to a GREAT year with our track & cross country team. Very excited!

For some more random news check out the picture of my 18 year old in her very stylish Winn-Dixie outfit!!! Yes, she got a job! So this summer she’s working at Winn-Dixie and a marina and will start classes in the fall at a junior college near our home!!!!

By the way, does anyone need any onions? Look.at.that.bag.

OMG-look how short her feet look!!! I can’t wait to show her this! She’s walking on baby feet. LOL!

Have you ever seen a snake while running?

If you teach, do you coach a sport?

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “National Running Day 2012

  1. We had our district track meet today – 6 schools from our area. My official job at track day is “4th place” for all the running events … it was VERY hot and sunny today, I was on the track ALL day, I am BURNT (figuratively and literally), and I wouldn’t have traded a moment for anything!!! My friend and I co-coach the track team (I’m the “pit coach” for jumping events) (we usually have a team of about 50 students at our school of 130 students), and the volleyball team (my first love). My husband and I just signed up to coach my oldest daughter’s soccer team (never coached soccer before … what were we thinking … oh yeah, we were thinking about spending more time with our daughters … guess we did a good thing). Congratulations on your daughter’s new job!!!

    Jen
    Runde’s Room

    • Jen-

      WOW!!! Here I was thinking I was a busy person! πŸ™‚ I feel sort of lost right now with the whole track thing, but I’m sure I’ll learn fast! Any hints, ideas, suggestions will be GREATLY appreciated!!!!! The thing that worries me the most is the FUNDRAISING!! We are so poor. πŸ™‚

  2. Besides moving OUT OF THE STATE! I don’t know what to tell you about the snakes. I am a little worried about that when I start running outside in FL, but mostly I’m fearing the humidity.

    I have “coached” girls soccer and volleyball, though neither were in the traditional, go to another school and battle it out on the field type clubs. It was more like, “We need an adult to open the storage room” type club. Either way, it was a blast!

  3. That is some tiny feet!! I hear you on the snakes! I run on our paved road so I can usually see any before they see me. I still freak out! We have several miles of 4 wheeler trails that I would love to hike but I am too afraid of the snakes! I am also not above going into the woods for a “pee break” …not so much this time of year! I think you are going to have a blast this year with your track team. The kids sound really excitied!

  4. No snakes to speak of here in MN. And it hardly ever gets HOT here. That is probable why we don’t have any snakes other then grass snakes. πŸ™‚

  5. Pingback: So Much Running Stuff! | Fancy Oatmeal

  6. I am so glad we don’t have snakes. I’m in MN too. It is hard to get up, today I skipped the alarm….not tomorrow!!
    Take care, blessings!!

  7. Pingback: National Running Day « The Bar Runner

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

