Home » Book Reviews » Here Today book review

Here Today book review

Here Today by Ann Martin

It took me several pages before I got into this book, but then I just wanted to find out what was going to happen to Ellie and her family. Ellie is a 6th grade child that has a mom that, well, just doesn’t really want to be a mom. She wants to be looked at and admired and become famous, so a lot of the mothering gets left to Ellie. Ellie’s dad has sort of become complacent with the fact that Doris, Ellie’s mom, isn’t going to change so he doesn’t tend to make too much of a fuss.

Goodreads summary:

In 1963, Ellie’s mother, Doris Day Dingman, was crowned the Bosetti Beauty at Mr. Bosetti’s supermarket, President John F. Kennedy was assassinated, and the Dingmans began to fall apart.” So begins 11-yr-old Eleanor Roosevelt Dingman’s story. Ellie, who is about to start 6th grade in the small town of Spectacle, NY, is the oldest child in her off-center family. Her father works construction jobs, while her mother, Doris, has only one dream – to become a rich and famous actress. But when that dream leads to Doris’s abandonment of the family, it is Ellie who is called upon to take charge.

Let me just go ahead and be blunt about it. I REALLY disliked Doris. I mean REALLY! She is a self-centered egotistical whatever. 🙂

It’s like she has NO feelings for her children or her husband. Only for herself. That is probably one of the things that kept me hooked on the book-I wanted to find out how Doris would meet her end what was going to happen with the family. 🙂

The other thing in the story that REALLY made me angry was the school situation with Ellie and Holly. (Ellie’s best friend) Let’s just say “girl drama”-mean girls. I wanted to deck a few of them while I was reading. 🙂

This was a book that I checked out from our public library. It was a quick and easy read.

3 of 5 stars

 

 

2 thoughts on “Here Today book review

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

