Home » Book Reviews » Dairy Queen book review

Dairy Queen book review

Diary Queen by Catherine Murdock. YOUNG ADULT FICTION

Oh, boy. What a great read!

Goodreads summary:

When you don’t talk, there’s a lot of stuff that ends up not getting said. Harsh words indeed, from Brian Nelson of all people. But, D.J. can’t help admitting, maybe he’s right. When you don’t talk, there’s a lot of stuff that ends up not getting said. Stuff like why her best friend, Amber, isn’t so friendly anymore. Or why her little brother, Curtis, never opens his mouth. Why her mom has two jobs and a big secret. Why her college-football-star brothers won’t even call home. Why her dad would go ballistic if she tried out for the high school football team herself. And why Brian is so, so out of her league. When you don’t talk, there’s a lot of stuff that ends up not getting said. Welcome to the summer that fifteen-year-old D.J. Schwenk of Red Bend, Wisconsin, learns to talk, and ends up having an awful lot of stuff to say.

You will fall in love with DJ and the writing style of this story. DJ is witty-and I mean witty!-but yet still has to deal with all the real issues that all of us have to deal with.  A rocky friendship, quirky family, love or like or love or whatever-just life in general.

The personality of DJ is what made this book. See for yourself:

“So after milking I took a long shower and tried to figure out what to do with my hair, and ended up with a ponytail again-someone out there has ll the hairstyling brains I should have been born with-and a clean pair of jeans and a Red Bend T-shirt, so you can see how totally sexy I was, and went off in Mom’s caravan as she yelled “drive safely” after me because if she didn’t the police will come and arrest her and put her in prison. That’s what she told me, anyhow.”

Don’t you just love her?

I do have to warn you that there are several places throughout the book where God’s name is taken in vain. So don’t say I didn’t warn you. And I don’t understand why authors feel the need to ruin a perfectly good book by using words like that, but you will have to take that up with Catherine. 🙂

There’s also the tiny little issue of lesbianism involved, too. It’s not explicit, but I thought you should know about that as well.

5 of 5 stars 

I can’t wait to read the next 2 books in this outstanding trilogy.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Dairy Queen book review

  1. Pingback: It’s Monday What Are You Reading? « i run read teach

  2. Greta review – I want to pull it off my shelf now. I agree with you on language… why add it??? Usually when I see a book is a series I get a bit nervous because one book can actually be a commitment to three but they sound like fun!

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

