Home » weight loss » Lose a Marathon Challenge

Lose a Marathon Challenge

I’m not trying to lose weight anymore since I got to my goal weight of 125 (to 127) back in April and have maintained it so far. BUT Jess over at Run With Jess is having a weight loss challenge called “Lose a Marathon”. You can sign up for this challenge if you are in the process of dropping some pounds right now. She also has a “Lose a Half-Marathon” challenge (13.1 miles).

And even if you’re not wanting to lose weight you still need to go check out her fabulous blog-she is constantly drumming up something new-giveaways, challenges, etc.

Back to the weight loss thing-I can’t tell you how much better I feel now that I have lost almost 40 pounds. Well, I can tell you because I’m telling you right now. 🙂

I mean, that’s like carrying around a small child!

It all began when my husband said…….I think I’ll save that for another post all by itself. Keep you on your toes. 🙂

Have you ever been on a quest to lose weight?

9 thoughts on “Lose a Marathon Challenge

  1. I actually started running to lose weight. I gave up when I started marathon training and ate ALL the time. I’ve been slowly taking the weight off now that the marathon is over but I’m definitely going to check this out. LOVE challenges!

    • You’ll probably love this one then. I think she is doing prizes?? Have fun! Gosh-marathon training. That will never be in my vocabulary! 🙂

      • I didn’t think it would’ve ever been in mine either. It just seemed a natural progression, though.

  2. That is such a great idea for targeting weight loss goals!!! And a HUGE!!!!! congrats on your weight loss!!!!! I think I would like to sign up for a 10k weight loss plan…but I’m afraid I’ll be runnign that for the rest of my life, pesky “last 5 pounds.”

    • Amanda,

      Yeah-those last 5 pounds are the bestest best friend you can have because THEY NEVER TURN THEIR BACK ON YOU OR LEAVE YOU!! HA!

  3. Good for you Shannon! I am trying to lose weight. I joined WW in March and have lost over 50lbs. I am enjoying the program and the meetings. I have run before but started back to lose weight. Now, I am more focused on eating healthy to fuel my runs!! I can’t eat after I run (no appetite for about 2 or so hours) I am trying to get in some protein after longer runs though. It does take balance to give your body the fuel it needs to run and to fill you up but lose weight too! I love that you are maintaining! So many of us struggle with that!! You should do a post on maintaning your weight. Also, I wanted to ask you if they talked about food at the running clinic. and cmon, tell us what your husband said!!!! Girl!

    • Libby,

      LOL! I PROMISE I will tell you what the hubby said in a future post! I’m planning on writing one about my entire journey so far. Kudos to you for losing 50 lbs-to me the 1st 10 pounds was the HARDEST! But when I saw results it was like I never wanted to stop. 🙂 I’m like you-I don’t want to eat after I run, and then I usually want to eat healthier when I do. If I have a day where I don’t run at all-I AM A PIG!! Oink-oink! 🙂

      There was 1 guy that talked about nutrition/weight loss at the clinic. He just told us what he did on his journey which is what we all hear and read about. Cutting calories, eating protein, salads, no sweets (he cut out sweet tea completely-FOOL-no just joking!). He said he got made fun of a lot for eating salads. Why is that? People would laugh at me when I only ate chicken salad and crackers for lunch at school. But it filled me up. That’s where we all go wrong (or at least me)-eating past being full.

      I think you are doing GREAT!! I need to get back to eating healthier like I had been doing. 🙂

      • No sweet tea?? Them’s fighting words! I look forward to reading more about your journey..and your husband;)
        I have noticed that if someone is eating a small amount people will comment and sometimes make fun. BUT, if an overweight person is eating a bunch of food noone would ever say anything to them to keep from hurting feelings. Double standard!

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

