Home » Curriculum » Social Studies Updates

Social Studies Updates

My panic meter has risen to an alarming all time high. 🙂 I don’t feel as prepared as I would like to feel for this upcoming year with my social studies that I will be teaching for the first time. Which means I have got to GET WITH IT!!

This is what I did about it last night. Till 3am. (Of course, that was AFTER I got back from the movies!)

I researched (and I do mean R E S E A R C H E D) online until I made a decision on what read aloud novels I would use for 5th and 6th. I picked 2 concepts/themes that I want them to understand and connect with. This is what I came up with:

5th grade- American Revolution and Immigration

Woods Runner by Gary Paulsen

Woods Runner

Letters From Rifka by Karen Hesse

Letters from Rifka

6th Grade-Holocaust and Civil Rights

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas

The Watsons Go To Birmingham by Christopher Paul Curtis

The Watsons Go to Birmingham--1963

Whew! That’s done! 🙂

Here are some links that I will be using all year.

Alabama Course of Study Standards for Social Studies

5th Grade Social Studies Pacing Guide (Courtesy of Morgan County)

6th Grade Social Studies Pacing Guide (Courtesy of Morgan County)

Alabama High School Graduation Exam Standards

I also made a list of the BIG IDEAS or CONCEPTS that we will cover and wrote them on chart paper and taped to the wall in my little office at my house. I have several columns to check off as I figure out the following:

1. Reading over the material

2. Resources to add to my livebinders page (REALLY loving livebinders!!)

3. Coming up with some kind of introduction presentation/hook

4. Attempting to write out a plan 🙂

I will summarize this post by saying once again-

My panic meter has risen to an alarming all time high. 🙂 I don’t feel as prepared as I would like to feel for this upcoming year with my social studies that I will be teaching for the first time. Which means I have got to GET WITH IT!!

That’s it. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Social Studies Updates

  1. I’m about three days away from the epicenter of panic mode about which novels/plays/short stories/non fiction pieces I am going to be selecting for the 9th graders this upcoming school year…OY THE PRESSURE!

    • Amanda,

      LOL! I’m just about to type up my own pacing guide based on the one I found. As I look through the window at the green grass and horses and blue sky…..

      But I know if I don’t go ahead and do all of this I will regret it through the year because then I’ll be a sloppy teacher! ESPECIALLY since I’ve never taught history!

      Aug-May makes my head spin it’s so busy! 🙂

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

