Home » Uncategorized » It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

Here we are with another chance to share wonderful books with each other thanks to Jen and Kellee over at Teach Mentor Texts and Sheila over at Book Journey who both sponsor this great meme each week for young adult/children and adult respectively!

Here’s what’s been in my hands this past week. I started off the week in a GREAT way ready to head into Round 2 of Summerthrowdown. But then I got sidetracked with a 2 day professional development on Content Literacy/Strategic Teaching that you can read about here or here. It was FABULOUS by the way! 🙂

Sandcastles by Luanne Rice

Sandcastles

A story of family, love, friendship, and heartache. Let’s just say I shed tears of sorrow and tears of joy.

Thirteen Ways to Sink a Sub  by Jamie Gilson

Thirteen Ways to Sink a Sub

Cute book for kids.

Our Only May Amelia by Jennifer Holm

Our Only May Amelia

It took me awhile to get into this book, but I ended up LOVING May Amelia. I felt her loss as well as her happiness, and I thoroughly enjoyed her spunkiness!

Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark by Alvin Schwartz

Scary Stories to Tell in th...

If you like short scary stories then you’ll like this one. However, I read a different one last year and thought the stories in the other one were better. My favorite part of this book was chapter 4 which had the urban legends. I ALWAYS like these!!! 🙂

More Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark by Alvin Schwartz

More Scary Stories to Tell ...

Another good Scary Story book. There were a couple in this one that I really liked because of the irony and sarcastic humor.

Babymouse for President by Jennifer and Matt Holm

Babymouse for President (Ba...

Of course it’s 5 out of 5 stars, silly. You can’t go over. (Or else I would!)

So What Do They Really Know? by Cris Tovani

So What Do They Really Know...

Cris has done it again. Written another practical book for teachers. This one is all about assessing students to be able to help them grow and improve. 5 of 5 stars is going out to this dynamic book!! Now I’m going to go back and look through her other one that I’ve already read-Do I Really Have to Teach Reading?

It was still a pretty good week considering all that was going on. Because I ended up working 18 hours at my mom’s marina on Friday and Saturday. 🙂 Rubbing hands together wickedly thinking about all the books this extra money will buy!

I am currently reading one of Joanne Fluke’s mysteries. I’ve never read anything by her before but someone had recommended them to me. She writes mysteries that always have food in the title. Two of the loves of my life-food and books. 🙂

The Apple Turnover Mystery by Joanne Fluke.

So far I’m really into it. AND I’ve already gotten 2 new recipes out of it. 🙂

What are you reading this week?

26 thoughts on “It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

    • I have been able to get about 4 books from netgalley but haven’t read them yet. I better get on that!!! 🙂

    • Katya-

      I have to confess that Babymouse is absolutely one of my most favorite characters EVER!!! 🙂 And I’m 41!

    • Mindy-

      So I must be on to a good thing by reading Joanne Fluke’s books! I’ll have to try out a recipe or two and post about it. 🙂

    • Chris,

      The Scary Stories are so short and some of them seem to run together. My favorites are the urban legends like the man with the hook that escaped and then they find his hook hanging on the car door when they get home. 🙂

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

