Home » running info » Slacker on running

Slacker on running

I admit it. I have been slacking on my running lately. I mean really this whole summer I’ve slacked in comparison to what I was doing before school got out. June was a pretty good month until the end of it when I went to Washington DC and GORGED myself on all the fantastic food! πŸ™‚

Last week I ran 3 miles. Not all at once. 3 different times. WOW! I don’t think THAT’S going to get me to a 10k or half marathon anytime soon. And then when I don’t run as much what do you think I end up doing? You are so smart! I eat more! This entire summer I’ve been having an affair. With cookies-n-cream ice cream. HA! Gotcha!

Anyway-Monday I ran 1 mile at track practice ON FLAT GROUND AROUND THE TRACK.

Didn’t run yesterday. Thought about it. While I was holding the couch down.

Tonight I ran 2.6 miles with friends and thought I was going to puke or die. Dying would have been the preferred option! πŸ™‚ We ran AFTER 7pm. Golly it was still like an inferno! And I don’t think it helped that I ate supper BEFORE I ran-pork tenderloin, mashed potatoes, broccoli, roll, banana pepper, and diet pepsi. πŸ™‚ I really needed some motivation. Like cookies-n-cream ice cream waiting at the end. Or a $100. Or this song might have helped cause it always makes me feel like I can do anything!

Go ahead! You know you want to run around with your arms in the air!!!!!

Even though I was planning what my coffin was going to look like while I ran tonight, it was nice to be running with friends. That REALLY helps!

I think I need to sit down with a calendar for August and map out my running to keep me more accountable. August is always a crazy month because school starts back. You haven’t seen busy until you’ve been a teacher the 1st couple of weeks at the beginning of the year!! O.M.G. (And I worked in the business world until I was 33)

I actually used to lose my voice during the first few weeks of school when I taught kindergarten because of all the talking required. Thank goodness it’s different in the upper grades!

Here’s what I will turn into over the next few weeks-

When’s the most stressful time of the year in your job?

5 thoughts on “Slacker on running

  1. Oh my goodness, I used to lose my voice, too, when I was a teacher. Try singing the Spanish alphabet without a voice . . . UGH! Now that I’m a counselor it doesn’t happen as much.

    I’m cheering you on to return to running . . . would you rather have a root canal? That’s my benchmark today because that’s where I’m off to . . . SO nervous . . .

    • Barbara-

      I’ve had 2 root canals in the past 2 years. I really thought I was going to die because of everything I had heard. All I felt was a lot of tugging. Don’t worry-you’ll be fine. Your jaw/mouth will be sore, but it’s not as bad as people make it out to be. πŸ™‚

  2. I have so much respect for teachers… it takes so much energy and creativity, more than I have. πŸ™‚ My running has been spotty this summer too, mostly because I think I hurt my shin and am trying to let it recover. So glad you signed up for the virtual run!

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

