Home » running info » Running in HOT August

Running in HOT August

Do not. run at 5:00. during the month of August. EVER. πŸ™‚ Here’s what my run looked like from yesterday:
Ran 2.38 miles in 26:21
Walked .19 mile in 4:53 because I stopped and talked
Ran/Walked 1.07 in 13:30
Crawled .92 mile and fell out for 17.29
TOTAL-4.56 miles

My stomach hurt, I thought I was going to pass out, I was sooooo thirsty, and had dreams of going to heaven. Right then. πŸ™‚

A BIG german shepherd took up with me along the way, and I literally wanted to ride on his back part of the way. πŸ™‚

This is what I’ve learned (hopefully) (might have thought I learned this before as well):

1. Drink plenty of water

2. Make sure you have eaten enough healthy things during the day but not RIGHT before you run

3. Wait until a cooler time of the day to run

4. DO NOT CONTINUE TO BE A RUNNING SLACKER OR YOU WILL DIE

I have printed an August calendar and planned out my running for the month based on my working/personal schedule. So I’ve made running a priority, but used my brain to know when I won’t be able to run or when I need to just schedule a short run.

I’m hoping this will keep me on my toes. Or feet anyway. πŸ™‚

Do you plan your runs?

 

10 thoughts on “Running in HOT August

  1. I ran 2 days ago at 3pm in 95 degree heat. Not the smartest decision, but it was the only time my partner could run. We just about died. The only smart thing we did was to bring water with us. And we weren’t even running a huge distance. Just 2.5 miles and that was with a 3 minute break in between. We are trying again this evening at 7:30 and are hoping the heat has cooled off. We have to run 25 minutes straight! First time for this one. πŸ™‚ Running is good for me…running is good for me…running is good for me…

    • Christy,

      7:30 will be a great time-that’s usually when I’ve been running. How long have y’all been running?

      • We started doing the Couch to 5K training plan on June 28th. I finally got the nerve to take up running again after getting in shape. πŸ™‚ Otherwise I never would have tackled it. There is a 5K in my area on Sept. 9th and another one on the 22nd. I am hoping to do both, but we will see…We have to go to John’s Hopkins tomorrow for a yearly follow up for our son and there is a Charm City Run at the Annapolis Towne Center that we are going to hit up. I’m so excited because we don’t have any real running stores around where we live (Eastern Shore of Maryland). Running is always easier in a cute outfit, right?? Plus I heard they do all sorts of cool tests to help you find your perfect running shoe.

      • Christy-

        5k races are so much fun!!! Hope everything goes well for your son tomorrow. πŸ™‚ There’s a running store about an hour from where I live (come to think of it most everything is an hour from where I live!). They video you running on a treadmill and make recommendations after watching your feet. Cool. I keep saying I’m going to do that…..

    • Deb-

      It is so hard to do anything during the school year except school! Teehee! I’m not a morning person so that really narrows it down for me.

  2. I ran in the mid day heat yesterday .. 10k … And it almost killed me. It took me 20 minutes longer than usual. I walked a lot and felt awful. I had water and electrolyte tablets, too, but it didn’t seem to matter.
    I’ll try again tomorrow morning when it’s cooler.

    • Beleyne-

      It’s amazing how much the heat can make a difference in a run. I guess that’s why some people end up in the hospital on those long runs when it’s too hot! I ran this morning at 7am and did a run/walk at about 5:20 in partial shade on a track so it wasn’t too bad. πŸ™‚

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

