Home » What Are You Reading » It’s Monday-What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday-What Are You Reading?

Here we are with another chance to share wonderful books with each other thanks to Jen and Kellee over at Teach Mentor Texts and Sheila over at Book Journey who both sponsor this great meme each week for young adult/children and adult respectively!

I didn’t participate in this meme last Monday so there are A LOT of books that I have read since 2 Mondays ago!

Gentle AnnieWhen the Soldiers Were GoneThe Boston MassacreBoston Revolts!

Behind the Bedroom WallHitler's Daughter Love You, Soldier

My Best Friend's GirlSomeone Like You

9 books in all! And that’s if I remembered to put all of them on goodreads! 🙂

Notice the 1st 7 were ALL historical fiction books. I’m trying to soak up the historical fiction novels so that I will be a more effective history teacher this year-1st year ever teaching history. (So excited by the way!)

I REALLY enjoyed all of the historical fiction books-in fact I had many favorites out of the 7:

Behind the Bedroom Wall, Hitler’s Daughter, and both of the American Adventures series (Boston Revolts and Boston Massacre). There are a lot in this series, and I want to get them ALL! I bought those 2 at a thrift store and definitely got my money’s worth.

Out of the 2 other books, Sarah Dessen‘s was of course hands down my FAVORITE! Boy can she write! I can’t wait to read ALL of her other books. 🙂

Currently, I’m reading The Devil’s Arithmetic by Jane Yolen. Hooked. I have become fascinated with learning about the Holocaust lately so if anyone has and good recommendations let me hear them!

Have you read a great historical novel lately?

Do you like to read Sarah Dessen’s books?

19 thoughts on “It’s Monday-What Are You Reading?

  1. I usually read a lot of historical fiction, but I haven’t been lately. I’m trying to get caught up on my YA lit since I’ve just moved up to 5th grade from 2nd. I’m so glad I found your blog/goodreads pages! You’ll help me find new books, which is one of my passions!
    My blog isn’t updated yet to fit my new position but it will be, stop by when you get a chance!
    Laura
    Mrs. Castro’s Class

  2. I read Devil’s Arithematic a couple years ago.

    I had a fantastic week of reading so it’s really difficult to pick a favorite book. I’m going to have go with a fan girl response and say the best (out of an extremely good set of books) was The Girl Who Fell Beneath Fairyland and Led the Revels There by Catherynne M. Valente. Please come and see what else I’m reading.

  3. I’m a giant fan of historical fiction. I always feel like I’m learning something AND enjoying a good tale at the same time, which is the best 🙂

    Have a great week of reading!

    • Jennifer,

      You hit the nail on the head-it’s so much more interesting to learn about it in a story rather than a textbook!

  4. Hi there! My 10 year old daughter and I have been reading The Diary of Anne Frank and we have also gone through quite a number of Holocaust-themed books. We read Maus I and II by Art Spiegelman two years back and we also watched the film adaptation of The Boy in the Striped Pajamas which you might enjoy reading. I have also just recently read a picture book by Roberto Innocenti, “Rose Blanche” – also about the Holocaust, will be posting a review of this book in the next week or so. I have also read and reviewed a graphic novel which was on blog tour at the time, Lily Renee, Escape Artist: From Holocaust Survivor to Comic Book Pioneer, that one is particularly nice, you might want to check out my review here: http://gatheringbooks.wordpress.com/2012/02/06/nonfiction-monday-lily-renee-escape-artist/

    Have fun with your titles! 🙂 Hopefully I can get to Yolen’s Devil’s Arithmetic before the year ends.

    • Myra-

      WOW! You have read A LOT of historical fiction! I read The Boy in the Striped Pajamas this summer and claimed it as my favorite summer read because of how powerful it was for me! I’m going to add the others you mentioned to my TBR list on goodreads-they all sound good! 🙂

    • Mom to 3 fiesty kids,

      It was hard reading about the way they were treated-I just can’t grasp the idea of how inhumanely they were treated by the Nazis. It blows my mind! Have you ever read The Boy in the Striped Pajamas? Now that book socked it to me!

  5. The Devil’s Arithmetic is a tough read, like somebody said above. When I taught 5th grade, I had a very sensitive advanced reader pick this up in the library and then come to me about it. We had to include her parents in the discussion. There’s alot to be learned from reading it, but it’s one of those “proceed with caution” books for younger readers, I think.

      • Sorry, just now saw this! I dunno, maybe it depends on the students? Some of my gifted/accelerated 5th graders read it (including the one mentioned above), and enjoyed it. I just felt like I needed to double-back and let the parents of these students know when the kids approached ME with questions. There are some sensitive scenes and content, but it’s a powerful book, too. 6th grade, I think I’d probably list it. 5th grade, especially at the beginning of the year…maybe not.

        Now that I’ve said all that… what did YOU decide? 😉

      • Maria,

        I think I will put it on my 6th grade list and explain to them how “heavy” it is. And confusing at times, too. 🙂 I have started reading aloud The Boy in the Striped Pajamas to 6th grade and Woodsrunner to 5th grade.

  6. My son raved about Rifles for Watie, a Newbery winner that takes place in the Civil War. I loved Adam of the Road, but that takes place in thirteenth century England (not sure if you are just interested in American history). There is also Johnny Tremain (American Revolution and a tearjerker).

    I hope to read Hitler’s Daughter soon. It’s on the 1001 Children’s Books You Must Read list.

    • I’ve been hearing about Rifles for Watie, the newbery book-I’ll check it out. I’m just teaching American History. Johnny Tremain seems so long! 🙂 I really got into Hitler’s Daughter!

  7. I have probably read the most historical fiction about World War II. Have you read The Book Thief? That’s my all-time favorite for that time period. Exceptionally done, and the audio is excellent. Milkweed was good, Number the Stars, For adults The Literary and Potato-Peel Society – I think this would work for HS…but I can’t remember all the details if it’s to mature or not. Told through letters and documents, awesome. Now I’m all excited remembering great books!

    • Jen,

      I’ve got The Book Thief but haven’t read it yet-will have to get around it soon. I’ve also got Milkweed and didn’t even realize it was historical fiction since I haven’t read it either (I guess I’m a book hoarder!!). I read Number the Stars last year and LOVED IT! I might read the adult one you mentioned just for my own sake-cause I’ve got a lot of history learning to do. 🙂

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

