Home » Book Reviews » Big Nate:From the Top Book Review

Big Nate:From the Top Book Review

Big Nate: From the TopBig Nate: From the Top by Lincoln Peirce

Goodreads Summary:

Big Nate is taking it from the topโ€”the top of the troublemaker’s list!Nate Wright is eleven years old, four-and-a-half feet tall, and the all-time record holder for school detentions in school history. He’s a self-described genius and sixth-grade Renaissance man. Middle school kids everywhere can relate to Big Nate’s daily battle against overzealous teachers, undercooked cafeteria food, and all-around conventionality. This collection features cartoonist Lincoln Peirce’s daily and Sunday strips.

My Thoughts:

Cute, cute, cute cartoon book. Well, maybe cute isn’t the best word to describe it since it has mature content in it. Hilarious, hilarious, hilarious. That’s better! This is the only Nate book I’ve read. He’s a character alright! ๐Ÿ™‚ One of my 6th graders gave it to me last year to read (Yes, my ToBeRead list is VERY long so I just got around to reading it this weekend). I can’t decide if it’s the kind of book that parents need to screen or if it’s exactly right for 6th graders. I thought it had some content in it that was maybe a little inappropriate for that age? Not sure-anyway, I liked it! :)It was my kind of humor-sarcastic and a little over the top.

4 of 5 stars

11 thoughts on “Big Nate:From the Top Book Review

  1. We had Lincoln visit our k-5 school a year or two ago, and he was fantastic! Taught kids how to draw Nate & everything! At that point he only had one book out & that content was totally fine. Consequently I’ve bought every book that has since come out for our library. Guess I should screen some of the newer ones & see if Nate has matured too much for my younger readers! Our middle school may be getting some new books! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Susan,

      I know they LOVED having him visit!! I’m just always real cautious with my books because of the area I teach in. ๐Ÿ™‚ It seems that some 5/6 graders aren’t as mature about finding content/words in books as I would like them to be. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Susan-

        Are we soul sisters and didn’t know it??? ๐Ÿ™‚ Running, reading, and teaching-my life. Sometimes one more than the others!

      • Hahaha! I think so! When I stumbled upon your blog, I thought “Oh my God! She’s me only way more organized!” Running the Chicago marathon on Sunday & the NWM San Francisco half on the 14th. Needless, to say I’m slacking in running & teaching departments! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. What’s just so remarkable about “Big Nate” is that the comic strip has been around for 20 years and is now gaining this amazing amount of popularity and traffic. Its becoming a “Calvin and Hobbes” to the kids of today and its exactly what it should be. “Big Nate” is brilliant! Great article!

    • Kendall,

      I did not know the comic strip had already been around that long! Big Nate was a great read for me. Loved his humor. ๐Ÿ™‚

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

