Home » Social Studies » Landforms in Social Studies

Landforms in Social Studies

In 5th grade this year we started out with landforms. Thank goodness since I’m teaching history for the 1st time and trying to wrap my head around all of it! I’ll probably figure everything out by the end of the year and then move to teaching something else. πŸ™‚

As an assessment (we have to have 10 grades per subject per 6 weeks don’t get me started on that soapbox!) I decided to give them a blank outline map of the US and have them draw,label, and color the landforms. From memory. πŸ™‚

We had already done this in our notebooks using the book previously. Of course, I wanted to share an artistic rendition from one of my more talented artists. Didn’t she do a great job? Boy, I wish I could draw and color like that! πŸ™‚

 

The thing I love about having them do something like this? They get SO into it!!

The thing I don’t love about having them do something like this? I don’t have anything to do while they work!

Hmmm….maybe I’ll start doing what THEY do.

 

2 thoughts on “Landforms in Social Studies

    • Michael-

      Haha! Now you know that might be a misconception learned by some of the kids since I used just the US map outline! BUT-we refer to the REAL US map on our wall EVERY week! πŸ™‚ Might need to make sure kids understand that the US is not by itself in the great big scheme of things!

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

