Home » running info » Running Problems Anyone?

Running Problems Anyone?

THIS POST WAS WRITTEN SUNDAY.

This morning I ran 3.7 miles with a few of my dogs. πŸ™‚ Walked 3 times. Let me tell you why.

1. My right calf was BURNING. I know. I know. I just have to stretch it out more.

You might not want to read any farther. It’s a little TMI!

2. Something is up with me having GI (?) problems WHILE I am running!!!!! This has just started in maybe the last 2 months. I’m thinking it might be because I have been eating horribly lately!! I’m talking a pint of ice cream AFTER supper 3 nights in a row. Heavy foods. Cravings galore.

GUYS-you might want to skip this next part. πŸ™‚

No, I’m not pregnant. However, I am about to be 42 and have been relieved of my “grandmother’s visit” since August. WHAT IS GOING ON?? Still have symptoms but NO VISIT! πŸ™‚

I’ve gained 5 pounds since school started. Remember-the ice cream thing?

Yesterday morning I decided not to eat ANYTHING before running. STILL had to use the bathroom while running. And you know-that feeling can REALLY SLOW YOU DOWN. πŸ™‚

Any advice from you runners out there? This has GOT to stop! I can handle sore muscles. Stretch more. I can handle my lungs being on fire. Run more. I have no idea how to handle this.

Well, one thing I’m planning on changing is getting back to eating a little lighter and a little healthier.

Will that do the trick?

Help me. πŸ™‚

16 thoughts on “Running Problems Anyone?

  1. I’m SO proud of you running . . . and I can’t speak to the problems since I’m a walker . . . an occasional walker . . . occasionally lately . . . but I’m a little older than you and am in a similar situation with the dreaded female cycle . . . just when I think it’s slowing down . . . well, let’s just say it’s back with a vengeance . . . got hormones??? Good luck with whatever’s going on, my friend!

    • Barbara,
      Thanks! I was having hot flashes CONSTANTLY, but now they are down to maybe once a day or something. Going to doctor in December (made appt back in June!) so we will see what’s up. My best friend wants to get a preg. test at Walmart. I almost shot her. πŸ™‚ Tubes have been LASERED so that BETTER not be it! πŸ™‚

  2. I definitely agree that it has to do with the food you eat, although I also believe everyone is different and our bodies change over time. If I were you, besides trying to work on improving diet in general, I would focus on determining which foods cause you problems. Keep a food diary (use an app or just basic paper and pencil) and notice not so much foods right before, but pay attention to your meal the day (and especially night before if you run in the morning). Hopefully, you can pinpoint your current triggers (though again, I’m a believer these can change over time). Good luck!

    • Crystal,

      I think I will do that. I didn’t drink any caffeine since Saturday-water only and have eaten lighter and a little better. Today I had waffle with p.butter, cheese, turkey sandwich, yogurt. Felt FINE on my run today-for the 1st time in a looooong time! πŸ™‚ Thank the good Lord above!

  3. I hope everything works out okay for you. I know that when running becomes an important part of our lives, it’s hard to let anything get in the way of it. I’ve had to stop running a few times now because of back problems and I always get more than a little depressed about it. I need those endorphins to keep me sane.

    • I would so miss running if I couldn’t do it! πŸ™‚ Yesterday was much better-I had only drank water for 2 days(no diet pepsi!) and ate lighter and healthier. Such a difference!

    • I never drink anything when I run because I’m already holding my phone. LOL! I really think it’s all the BAD food I’ve been eating. Yesterday’s run was fine because of drinking only water and eating well for 2 days. Then today we brought snacks to school for Boss’ Day and BLAH-the run was great, but stomach didn’t feel good toward end. πŸ™‚ I now know it’s what I eat!!

  4. Definitely see dr. about grandma’s visit. I had a similar issue, and was put on birth control pills to regulate schedule. My dr. told me that it is too early to have menopause (I’m 44), and that not having a regular cycle can cause some significant health issues later … not worth the risk! I’d see if you can move your appointment up. Tell the nurse what is going on – this is a simple fix!

    • Wendy-

      Wow-I didn’t realize that it might cause later health problems! And if I have to take birth control pills after having tubes cut I’m.gonna.be.disappointed. πŸ™‚

  5. Good luck!
    Make sure you check for your trigger foods – maybe your body isn’t loving dairy/gluten/fats/fibre/fructose etc. I feel like the more you run the easier all of this gets – if you stick at it, you’ll get to know your body better, and treat it as it needs to be treated prior to a run.

    • Tonee,

      The eating healthier part is the KEY!!!!!!!!!!!! Plus, I’ve gained about 3-4 lbs since the summer, and so I think that’s hurting me as well. πŸ™‚

  6. I’m willing to bet eating healthier and lighter will help. I don’t always eat healthy or light but I try to do better the day before a long run or race.

    • Suzanne,

      I have cut back on my food this week AND the types of food, and it has made a world of difference! Thank goodnes!! πŸ™‚

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

