Home » History » Electoral College Explained

Electoral College Explained

If you are like me, you know enough to know that you don’t know (HA) enough about the electoral college process. 🙂

Since I like you so much I am going to give you 2 links that will help you understand it a “little” better.

Do NOT hunt me down and beat me if you have to take half a bottle of advil after reading this stuff on the 1st link!!

1. http://www.archives.gov/federal-register/electoral-college/electors.html#qualifications

DO send me cyber hugs if you LOVE how well Wonderopolis explains the process! Make sure you click on the video to learn about the electoral voting process.

2. http://wonderopolis.org/wonder/why-do-we-vote-on-tuesdays/

I still don’t really understand WHY we use this process to elect our presidents when the people of America are perfectly capable of casting their own votes. Why not just let the popular vote be the one that counts?

If you have any additional insight or comments I would LOVE to hear them!!!! I like getting educated!

P.S. Am I the only one that wonders sometimes what I was actually doing in history class in high school???????

One thought on “Electoral College Explained

  1. I think that’s something most everybody wonders about, and I think the main reason is that every person is under two governments: the state government and the federal government. If we counted just the total popular vote in the nation, that would undermine the power of the state governments. I’m pretty sure that’s the reason, or part of it, but maybe somebody else can illuminate it a little more.

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

