Home » running challenges » Knocking out the miles

Knocking out the miles

I FINALLY knocked out some higher mileage today. Kara and I ran 4.01 miles Β in 47:27 today. Slow and steady. πŸ™‚

Miles 1 and 4 hurt. Mile 1 ALWAYS hurts! ALWAYS! Miles 2 and 3 felt good.

Flat ground is my friend. Downhill is my best friend.

We only encountered 3 dogs on our run. They were mostly ankle biters. Which could still do some damage, but they weren’t huge like bears or anything.

I’m hoping that this 10k that I signed up for this Saturday is going to be kind to me and only give me flat ground and downhills. I mean I know I can stop and walk if I want to, but I really want to run the entire race. And I know I’m “supposed” to take off the day before a race, but let’s face it people-obviously I’m not in it to win or anything. Not with my times. πŸ™‚

So I’m still streaking minus one day! πŸ™‚

 

15 thoughts on “Knocking out the miles

  1. That is awesome. Your times aren’t bad at all, really. You will do terrific on Saturday, I know you will. I can’t wait to read about it and maybe a picture or two.
    Take care and keep up the fantastic work. Blessings!!

    • Julie,

      Thanks for the encouragement! I’ll be sure and post pictures unless I’ve passed out before the finish line. πŸ™‚

    • You are right about running buddies! I wish we could get a group of several to run with us, but no luck YET. πŸ™‚

  2. Your time is actually really good. I do 4.5 mi in 1hr so you’re great! I’m sure you’ll rock that 10K! And you should probably do a quick 1 or 2 miles the day before the race if you don’t want to rest. It will be a good idea so that you don’t feel too tired when you have to run. Best of luck!

    • Maria,

      I decided to take today off and rest. I was pretty sore after the 4 miles yesterday. πŸ™‚ The only thing I’m NOT looking forward to on this race is getting up early!!!

      • oh yeah! that’s the worst part of racing lol I get so nervous thinking I won’t wake up on time!

      • Maria,

        OMG! I’m ALWAYS scared of that. I mean you can be late for a lot of things and get by with it, but a race is NOT one of them!! πŸ™‚

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

