Home » Book Reviews » Good Night Maman Book Review

Good Night Maman Book Review

Good Night, MamanGood Night, Maman by Norma Fox Mazer.

Goodreads Summary:

“Dearest Maman, 
I keep all my letters to you in my notebook under my pillow. One day, when we’re together again, I’ll give them to you, and we’ll sit and read them….”

In June 1940, twelve-year-old Karin Levi’s world is torn apart as the German army occupies Paris. Karin, her older brother, Marc, and their “maman” must flee, seeking safety wherever they can find it. But Maman falls ill and is unable to travel, forcing Karin and Marc to leave her behind. When Marc manages to obtain two coveted places aboard a ship bound for America, the distance between them grows even greater. Will Karin ever see her beloved “maman” again?

My Thoughts:

I loved this book. It told the story of Karin, a Jewish girl, hiding from the Germans with her family. It was told in a sort of two fold way-the story of her life from her point of view and then letters she wrote to her mom when they became separated.

I’m warning you-if you are sensitive like me you are going to need some tissues.

This is definitely a recommend for my students! 🙂

On a sidenote-since this will probably never happen again I thought I needed to capture this image. I am 2 books AHEAD of schedule for my reading goal this year!! What? Seriously? I.ROCK. 🙂

2013 Reading Challenge
You have read 7 books toward your goal of 200 books.
Great work, you’re 2 books (1%) ahead of schedule.

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

