Home » running info » Longest.Run.Ever

Longest.Run.Ever

I had to get in a long run this weekend since I’m (ha-ha) training for my half marathon at the end of February. ๐Ÿ™‚

I did it. 9 miles in 1:53:11. NO WALKING!!

614815_2668460086353_323194432_o

 

To say I am proud and feeling a little cocky is an understatement! ๐Ÿ™‚

Mile Splits:

1-11:22

2-11:41

3-12:19

4-12:18

5-12:39

6-13:28

7-13:35

8-13:31

9-12:18

Miles 1-4 I felt GREAT. I’m talking GREAT. I didn’t have to worry about hunters (I ran on the dirt roads near my house) because I was singing with my IPOD so I knew I wouldn’t be shot. ๐Ÿ™‚

The end of mile 5 was fine, too, because of my friend called the DOWNHILL. ๐Ÿ™‚

So you can probably guess what happened at mile 6. Yep, the enemy-UPHILL himself. OMG! Mile 7, too. But I didn’t give up. Miles 8 and 9 I wasn’t “hurting”, but I.WAS.TIRED. ๐Ÿ™‚

Look at mile 9. Yep. Now I know how a horse feels when they sense they are returning to the barn. They run fast!

THE AFTER EFFECTS:

Seriously thought I was going to throw up when I stopped running. ๐Ÿ™‚

Ate a banana and drank a tank of water. ๐Ÿ™‚

Then it hit me. I hadn’t fueled properly. See for breakfast I ate some peanut butter cheerios and a greek yogurt. Yum. I didn’t eat lunch because I went running around 11:45 am. Uh-oh. I DID eat this little gummy energy gel. WOW. It must have worn off after mile 4. ๐Ÿ™‚

Took a shower, posted my accomplishment, and took a little nap. Little might not be the best adjective to describe that nap. Woke up at 4:30-went out to eat at 5. THANK.GOD.

Now it’s 7:15 pm, and I feel good!

Let me back up for a minute-my calves NEVER hurt during this run! They usually have flames coming out of them. ๐Ÿ™‚

My 2 big toes started hurting, and my back ached a little.

Now I’m just tired. Headed to bed to peruse the internet and read. It was a great run!

What’s your longest run? How did you feel after your FIRST really long run? Any advice or suggestions?

 

12 thoughts on “Longest.Run.Ever

  1. Great job!!! I live the feeling of pushing myself further than I have ever gone before :). Congrats on the great feeling!!

    Question about your fueling: did you bring anything to fuel with DURING your run? Generally anything over 6 or 7 miles, I benefit from refueling around mile 5!

    • I didn’t take anything. ๐Ÿ™‚ I really didn’t know how far I was going to be able to run. A friend told me,this afternoon that I need to take water and fuel on long runs so it’s shopping time. What do you carry it in when you’re running?

  2. Shannon! Way to go! If you just whipped out 9 miles after “no training,” I’d say you are doing fine ๐Ÿ™‚ I vividly remember my first 7 mile run a couple years ago–it was the first time I felt like a SERIOUS runner. Awesome feeling.

    You totally need to be carrying fuel though–I can’t believe you even made it through without anything! I would have passed out. I can literally feel hunger pangs midway through a long run! I typically drink a little Gatorade + Water mix every mile or two and take a Gu every 5 or 6 miles. I carry water on runs over 5 miles in a Nathan handheld bottle (has a strap with a pouch that is perfect for Gu) or a Nathan fuel belt. If I’m not carrying water (like at a race) and still need to carry fuel, I either wear a Banjee on my arm or wear a Spi belt. I also try to start out super slow on long runs to make sure I don’t burn up all my energy and so I can finish with faster splits at the end. Awesome job again!

  3. Awesome job! One of the most difficult things about training has been learning how to fuel properly. My best piece of advice: Don’t eat too much too soon or you’ll need to visit the porta potties…

  4. Great Job! My longest run has been a marathon. I have actually run 3 of them. They were hard but I felt like I had accomplished something when I was done. My longest training run was 20 miles. I thought I had the marathon in the bag! No one told me I would hit the wall at mile 21!!!!! Sheer determination is what got me through. You’ve got what it takes, just keep with it. Good Luck!

    • Thanks everybody!!! I do need to look into the refueling aspect because Saturday and Sunday I was just drained!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

