Home » Book Reviews » Sitting Bull Book Review

Sitting Bull Book Review

Sitting Bull: Dakota Boy (Childhood of Famous Americans)Sitting Bull by Augusta Stevenson

Did you ever read these little biographies when you were in elementary school? I remember I couldn’t get enough of them! I don’t remember how many I read back then, but they were so easy to read, and I remember feeling like I was back in that time.

I picked this one up last week from our school library because I knew we had a 6th grade history lesson coming up on a couple of battles between the settlers and the Indians where Sitting Bull was involved. It didn’t disappoint! Loved it! πŸ™‚

Goodreads Summary:

Sitting Bull was admired by friends and enemies alike for his courage, strength, intelligence, and humanity. A great Sioux chief, he fought to preserve his people’s homeland and way of life from the encroachment of the white man. Illustrations.

Sitting Bull didn’t always have that name. He earned it in his youth.

I’m hoping that some of my students will pick this one up so they can get a clearer picture of what life was like for the Indians during that time. πŸ™‚

5 of 5 stars

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

