Home » Book Reviews » Night by Elie Wiesel Book Review

Night by Elie Wiesel Book Review

Night  Night by Elie Wiesel

Goodreads Summary:

Night A terrifying account of the Nazi death camp horror that turns a young Jewish boy into an agonized witness to the death of his family…the death of his innocence…and the death of his God. Penetrating and powerful, as personal as The Diary Of Anne Frank, Night awakens the shocking memory of evil at its absolute and carries with it the unforgettable message that this horror must never be allowed to happen again.

My Thoughts:

Author wasn’t afraid of revealing his thoughts and feelings even when it made him seem harsh. An honestly written book about what he went through and how it changed him during those times! Very thought provoking. Makes the reader wonder how he/she would have reacted to those terrible atrocities.

Some powerful quotes from the book-

” ….I feel that books, just like people, have a destiny. Some invite sorrow, others joy, some both.”

“To forget would be not only dangerous but offensive;to forget the dead would be akin to killing them a second time.”

” He does not want his past to become their future.”

5 of 5 stars

13 thoughts on “Night by Elie Wiesel Book Review

    • Caroline,

      Night was soooo intense. I have fallen in love with books on the holocaust. Those were scary times and seems so removed from our life today. It’s frightening to think that something of that nature would possibly happen again.

  1. The students in junior high read this at a nearby school. One of the girls let me borrow it when she finished. It was a very moving book. I get absorbed into the books about the Holocaust. Such a tragic time in our world’s history… When I taught Social Studies to 6th grade, I always did a Holocaust unit and we studied Anne Frank. The year before Miep Gies died, my students wrote letters to her and she sent back a response with an autographed postcard. I will always treasure that letter.

    • Meredith,

      Wow. That would be so neat to communicate with a survivor.I get VERY drawn into the holocaust books, too. I visited the museum in DC this past summer. Oh.my.word.It was unbelievable. I think most people don’t think something like that could ever happen again but…..

  2. Pingback: Reviews | Night

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

