Home » Math » Math, Anyone???

Math, Anyone???

I went to a math sharing session after school today. You know-in case I actually teach math next year. πŸ™‚ Currently, I only teach history/english. Being at a small school has its advantages and disadvantages. One minor disadvantage is that you frequently have to change what you are teaching including grade levels. Next year will be one of those changes.

I’m hoping I land in 6th grade. HOPING. PRAYING. πŸ™‚

If I do then Mr. Brady and I have talked about going self-contained so we can collaborate with each other-especially with reading and math. So, I’m planning ahead. Which is why I went to this math session!

Other schools in our district are spending about 1 1/2 hours each day with math. WOW! The lower grade levels have implemented small group math whereas the upper elementary grade levels do remediation in math and are leaning toward small groups in the future.

With the small groups the key is doing a formative assessment (a quick one) each day after the whole group lesson. This is how they determine who will be in what small group. So the groups are FLEXIBLE!

Before I left I asked one of the 4th grade teachers what she would recommend for me next year if I teach 6th grade. What is one thing I should use?

She said definitely ROCKET MATH. Have you ever heard of it? You can read about it here at Rocket Math.

It’s a method of math facts practice that partners can complete with each other with the teacher as the facilitator.

It’s a daily thing.

I’ll be checking this out if I end up in the number world next year. I’ve NEVER taught math except in Kindergarten!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Biting nails. πŸ™‚

Do you have any suggestions for me?

 

4 thoughts on “Math, Anyone???

  1. I taught 6th grade math for six years, and miss it! One program I always found useful was mountain math. You can buy it, but I began to make my own later on to suit my students’ needs. There are 20 questions for the week and include a variety of different problems for practice. It allows for practice and review, AND it gives students something to work on while you work with those small groups. I always had 90 minute math blocks and it makes a huge difference in what you can get accomplished with your groups.

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

