Home » Book Reviews » Skinny by Donna Cooner Book Review

Skinny by Donna Cooner Book Review

Skinny

Skinny by Donna Cooner

Goodreads Summary:

Find your voice.

Hopeless. Freak. Elephant. Pitiful. These are the words of Skinny, the vicious voice that lives inside fifteen-year-old Ever Davies’s head. Skinny tells Ever all the dark thoughts her classmates have about her. Ever knows she weighs over three hundred pounds, knows she’ll probably never be loved, and Skinny makes sure she never forgets it. 

But there is another voice: Ever’s singing voice, which is beautiful but has been silenced by Skinny. Partly in the hopes of trying out for the school musical—and partly to try and save her own life—Ever decides to undergo a risky surgery that may help her lose weight and start over.

With the support of her best friend, Ever begins the uphill battle toward change. But demons, she finds, are not so easy to shake, not even as she sheds pounds. Because Skinny is still around. And Ever will have to confront that voice before she can truly find her own.

My Thoughts:

You know that voice inside your head that is always working against you in your life? That’s the voice that Ever hears all the time. She has struggled with her weight most of her life. It has really taken over her life-the fact that she is obese. She decides to have surgery to “fix” what’s wrong with her. She learns a lot about herself and others afterwards.

An exceptional story of hurt, healing, and gaining the ability to let go of part of yourself.

This is a great read for anyone grades 6th and up. The only mature part of the book is a kissing scene. No foul language at all. 🙂

I REALLY liked this book. In that “I don’t want to put it down” kind of way. I thought it was cool the way she kept up with her weight loss on a chart and added a playlist to the chart to describe how she was feeling at that given point.

I can’t wait to see what this author has planned next!

5 of 5 stars

10 thoughts on “Skinny by Donna Cooner Book Review

  1. I also loved this book! I bought two of them for my 6th and 7th grade language arts classes, and the students are reading this book like crazy! Thank you for your review!

    • I do read fast but remember that my kids are out of the house and hubby works night shift=reading time for me! 🙂 Plus I take a book EVERYWHERE I go, bathroom included! 🙂

  2. This is really popular with my girls, who are fascinated by sad books, starting in about February of 7th grade. Levenkron’s The Best Little Girl in the World STILL circulates because of this fascination, but Skinny was a good new book.

  3. Ms. Yingling,

    Ha! I must be fascinated by sad books, too, since I love to read them. 🙂 I’m going to check out that one you mentioned-I’ll probably like it as well!

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

