Home » Book Reviews » One For the Murphys by Lynda Hunt Book Review

One For the Murphys by Lynda Hunt Book Review

One for the MurphysOne For the Murphys by Lynda Hunt

Goodreads Summary:

Twelve-year-old Carley Connors can take a lot. Growing up in Las Vegas with her fun-loving mother, she’s learned to be tough. But she never expected a betrayal that would land her in a foster care. When she’s placed with the Murphys, a lively family with three boys, she’s blindsided. Do happy families really exist? Carley knows she could never belong in their world, so she keeps her distance.

It’s easy to stay suspicious of Daniel, the brother who is almost her age and is resentful she’s there. But Mrs. Murphy makes her feel heard and seen for the first time, and the two younger boys seem determinded to work their way into her heart. Before she knows it, Carley is protected the boys from a neighbourhood bullly and even teaching Daniel how to play basketball. Then just when she’s feeling like she could truly be one of the Murphys, news from her mother shakes her world.

My Thoughts:

Amazingly delicious book that I devoured in one day! Carley grabbed my heart right away although I do have to admit that for awhile I went back and forth between feeling sorry for her and thinking she was too much of a smart alec. She ended up winning my heart when she finally revealed her true character. She’s one of those lost souls that you just want to wrap your arms around and save.

This was an excellent story that I did not want to put down. I think I might have lost a couple of pounds from all the tears that I shed!!

I’ve got to put this in the hands of my 5/6 graders!

5 out of 5 stars 

Or maybe 6 out of 5? 🙂

You can follow this FAB author on twitter- @LynMullalyHunt

Or you can visit her website- http://lyndamullalyhunt.com/book_murphys.ph

BUT you MUST read this book!

 

8 thoughts on “One For the Murphys by Lynda Hunt Book Review

    • Lol!!! It’s one of the best books I’ve ever read!! Make sure you have tissues…. 🙂 and let me know how she likes it when she reads it!

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

