Home » What Are You Reading » It’s Monday-What Are You Reading-5/6/13

It’s Monday-What Are You Reading-5/6/13

Here we are with another chance to share wonderful books with each other thanks to Jen and Kellee over at Teach Mentor Texts and Sheila over at Book Journey who both sponsor this great meme each week for young adult/children and adult respectively!

 

Intermediate Grades

Waiting for NormalSurvivors: True Stories of Children in the Holocaust

The Lions of Little RockBystander

Really liked all of the above, but The Lions of Little Rock captured my heart! Bystander was a great read although Griffin made me MAD!!!

Professional Reading

Pathways to the Common Core: Accelerating Achievement

FINALLY I was able to read Pathways. Underlined like crazy. Will reread and reread and reread and…..with highlighters, sticky notes, etc. It does a fabulous job of EXPLAINING the common core standards for reading/language/writing. It was also nice that it really confirmed my decision to implement reading and writing workshop in my classroom next year!!!! 🙂 It seems to be the only way to go! Especially with the reading.

It was interesting to find out that the famous “text to self” connection strategy needs to be thrown out the window! No more personal responses or straying from the text.

I need to reread and talk about it with others because it almost seems that quite a few of the reading strategies that have been so popular in recent years might not be as important anymore. Does anyone have any thoughts on this???

What are you reading?

 

21 thoughts on “It’s Monday-What Are You Reading-5/6/13

  1. I haven’t read the Pathways book and I’m not a teacher (yet), but I’m interested in why the authors said to throw out the text-to-self connection. My teacher preparation program teaches us that it’s important for students to make connections to their own lives to help them see relevance in what they read. At any rate, it looks like a useful book – thanks for the review!

    • Well, they didn’t actually say to throw it out. They just said it all needs to back to what’s actually in the text. I’m thinking after talking to people this week that its still important for them to have personal responses, but LOTS of focus on text evidence. 🙂

    • Deb,

      I might have spoken out prematurely. 🙂 I think it’s still important for readers to have personal responses to books, but focus is on text evidence and what you can find in the 4 corners of the text.

    • Sheila,

      I’ve been behind on my blog reading so I need to check out what you’ve been reading lately since your choices are usually my kind of books!!

  2. Lions of Little Rock was a wonderful read – we used it as a book club selection this year and the kids responded so well! Pathways is such a great resource – I’ve been trying to get my team to read it for PD hours…but no luck thus far, alas!

  3. I love hearing about books connected to reading – pathways to common core seems like something i’d enjoy. I haven’t heard of the lions of little rock yet – so I’m glad to see that here. 🙂 Will check that out.

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

