Home » 5k races » Finishing With Faith 5k

Finishing With Faith 5k

Kara and I ran the Finishing With Faith 5k this morning. A slow 37:45, but a great run!

Karen (in the middle) holds this race each year in memory of her sweet daughter, Kara Hay, who lost her fight with cystic fibrosis at the age of 21. So it’s an emotionally charged race. Karen is such an upbeat person who even through her tears still manages to see the positive side of things. This race is a celebration of her daughter’s life. 🙂

This is the 2nd time I have run it and hope to run it many more times! It’s held at a city park with a pond. It’s beautiful and serene. About as close to God as you can get.

965592_10200619609886411_930766498_o

294839_10200619762370223_1447165704_n

 

A great way to jump start my weekend after a VERY VERY hectic week. Well, let me take the words “jump start” back because the only jumping I have done since the race was to jump on the couch!! 🙂

I AM DETERMINED to run tomorrow, and the day after, and the day after, and the day…..

This lack of running is for the birds. HA! Literally! 🙂

Have a great weekend!

6 thoughts on “Finishing With Faith 5k

  1. 37:00 is slow? hummmm, I’m a turtle than cuz yesterday and Thursday I did 39 minutes. I’m proud of you and the cause you ran for. I have my first 5K of the year next Saturday and it’s for a little boy that was hit by a bus and his parents are starting a scholarship.
    Anyways, keep up the running. Take care and have a blessed weekend.

    • Julie, You will love doing a 5k!! And remember the story about the tortoise and the hare?? 🙂 Have fun!!

    • Thanks, Lee Ann!!! I had been running it in about 32-33 minutes so I’ve got to run more to get back to that speed. Even though speed isn’t my main goal. 🙂

    • Suzanne,

      I’ve been running so inconsistently that it HURTS when I run now. Lol! BUT ran Saturday, yesterday, and planning on tomorrow! 🙂

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

