Home » National Writing Project » National Writing Project Here I Come!!!!

National Writing Project Here I Come!!!!

Happy Monday! I finally got the email I had been waiting on. My application was accepted for the National Writing Project this summer!!!! YIPPEE!!

I will be traveling to Jacksonville State University the entire month of June, Monday-Friday, 9am-4pm to read and Β research about writing and to write!

It’s a summer institute-I think in every state-where teachers from all grade levels and content areas gather together to receive training on learning how to better teach writing.

I had been hesitant about applying in the beginning because of the following reasons:

1. What if I learn all these great things but I’m not good enough to implement them in my own classroom?

2. What if WHAT I learn doesn’t apply to my students?

3. What if I fail miserably?

4. What if I give up a whole month of my summer, and it’s not worth it?

5. What if

6. What if

But I took the plunge and sent my application in. And let me tell you-after I sent that baby off I couldn’t think of anything else!!! πŸ™‚ I became almost obsessed with it. I WANTED it so badly.

The email came today. My life has begun. πŸ™‚

I can’t wait to learn some great strategies for teaching, assessing, and grading writing. I will be posting what I learn so tune in during June to learn more about W.R.I.T.I.N.G.

You can follow the National Writing Project on twitter at @writingproject or hashtag #NWP.

Visit their website at National Writing ProjectΒ or their facebook page at National Writing Project.

I leave you with this.

 

21 thoughts on “National Writing Project Here I Come!!!!

  1. NICE. If it is anything like the Hudson Valley Writing Project, it will be a fabulous experience. I have participated in three Summer Institutes. One as a participant, two as returning fellows and now this year I am co-facilitating the entire summer. It is fantastic, worthwhile and addicting. I hope you enjoy it!
    -Christine

    • Amanda,

      I REALLY hope I learn how to actually teach writing to my 5/6 graders in a systematic yet engaged way. I’ve done hit and miss this year. πŸ™‚

    • Definitely, Brandee!!! You have a lot of expertise to share with me. Especially as I get this reading/writing workshop off the ground next year!! πŸ™‚

  2. I am so proud of you … tackling those ‘what ifs’ and not letting them become coulda, woulda, shouldas … you’re going to ROCK that project! Congrats.

    Barbara

  3. The summer institute is the best thing I have ever done to inspire my teaching (and I’m a secondary math teacher). You will love it!!!

    • Lisa,

      Now that’s saying something since you are a math teacher!! Is there anything from it that you actually use in YOUR math classroom?

    • Amy,

      Thanks!!!!! I always love going to workshops and conferences and now this is like a month long one so I’m super excited!!!! I think it’s where we actually learn how to teach something by doing what we expect the kids to do. How neat is that? I say that now. By the middle of June when my fingertips are bleeding…… πŸ™‚

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

