Home » National Writing Project » National Writing Project-Day 1

National Writing Project-Day 1

This will be my life for the entire month of June, and my blog posts will probably reflect it!!! Of course, I’m already 1 day behind in blogging about it….. πŸ™‚

If you want to learn more about The National Writing Project and the forces behind it you can visit the website of The National Writing Project.

Here’s the JSU Writing Project Facebook pageΒ to see what we are up to this summer!! Or you can follow the Writing Project on twitter.

For even more updates (in case those weren’t enough!!) you can follow me on twitter at @shannonclark7Β or on my facebook page-Reading is Thinking.

I’m going to TRY to blog a little about each of the 16 days of this FANTASTIC writing project!! So here’s a little from Day 1:

A lot of this 1st day was basic information about the project itself and the requirements.

1. Four major writings with revisions- 2 of these are free choice and the other 2 have to focus on teaching-response groups will collaborate and help with revisions of rough drafts

2. Daily Journals- Each morning someone will present a journal entry from the day before-I have to do this only 3 times

3. Professional Reading-Annotated bibliography of at least 8 sources πŸ™‚

4. Teacher Demonstrations- Responsible for 1 teacher demonstration-Each participant will have to teach a 75-90 minute lesson-WOW!

5. Response to Teacher Demonstrations-Brief writings after each demonstration

6. Read and discuss 2 required texts

7. Round table discussions on hot topics that we vote on

Also, this week the university is conducting their CORE Academy Workshops so we are attending 3 of these.

WHEW!!!! Does that make your head spin like mine? πŸ™‚ But in a good way!!

On day 1 we wrote a poem-“I Am a Rock Star”. You can find a model at Read Write Think-even though I couldn’t find it. πŸ™‚

Here’s the one I wrote:

I Am A Rockstar In My Classroom1

We checked out the books we want to read and write about. Here’s what I checked out!! Love.To.Read.

Words, Words, Words by Janet Allen

Breathe In, Breathe Out by Ralph Fletcher

Side by Side: Essays on Teaching to Learn by Nancie Atwell

Everday Editing by Jeff Anderson

Writing About Reading by Janet Angelillo

Teaching Middle School Writers by Laura Robb

When Kids Can’t Read by Kylene Beers

We talked about Dropbox and Google Drive-places to save documents.

One of our instructors did a teacher demonstration on imagery using Edgar Allan Poe’s The Fall of the House of Usher poem.

1. He had us draw a picture of what death meant to us, then we shared

2. Read the poem

3. Highlighted the words that brought vivid images to mind

4. Found 15 pictures on the internet to show meaning of words

5. Created a video in Animoto using those 15 images

It was an AWESOME day just full of awesomeness! πŸ™‚

Stay tuned for Day 2.

5 thoughts on “National Writing Project-Day 1

  1. It sounds like a great first day. I remember feeling completely overwhelmed my first day, but all the work did get done. I was so excited by all of it that it didn’t even seem like work. I’ve read three of your books–Words, Words, Words; Breathing In, Breathing Out; and Writing About Reading–and learned from all of them. Now I want to check out the Atwell title I haven’t read. Happy reading, writing, and learning through the next month!

    • Thanks, Kay. Another teacher at my school asked me today if they had taught me how to teach my students to write yet. I said no. She looked at me like I was crazy. Is that going to happen?

  2. Pingback: Five For Friday 6/7/13 | i run read teach

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

