Home » National Writing Project » National Writing Project- Day 13

National Writing Project- Day 13

This is the last week of my #NWP. Boooooo…..

Today’s daily journals were Lynda and myself! She took Rachel’s Earth Science lesson to heart and sectioned her journal with the layers of the earth. VERY cool. πŸ™‚

20130624-234600.jpg

 

I used Xtranormal to create a video for my journal. It might not be too funny to you, but if you had been with us last Thursday….well, you would know ALL about it!

My Video

The teacher demonstration for the day was-yep, you guessed it. ME. Boy was I nervous. I mean it’s one thing to teach kids, but to get up in front of your peers! #bitingnails #sicktostomach

My lesson was on writing haiku poems. Here’s a picture of our published haikus:

20130624-233929.jpg

 

And in case you have nothing else to do-here is an outline for my lesson.

Teacher Demonstration Lesson Plan Outline

During our Reading, Researching, and Writing time I continued to read Jeff Anderson’s book-Mechanically Inclined.

Mechanically Inclined: Building Grammar, Usage, and Style into Writer's Workshop

He’s got such great and authentic ideas about weaving grammar into writing!!! Definitely a must read!

For our round table discussion we talked a little about AP classes and Dual Enrollment classes. In my opinion, because you asked :), if I was a high school student contemplating which one to do, I would go with Dual Enrollment. Here’s why. For the AP class you have to pass the test. The ONE test. If you don’t you don’t get credit. With Dual Enrollment you have to make a C or above. YOU do the math. πŸ™‚

And on that note, or this note, I just had to take a picture of the secretary’s office for the Writing Dept at JSU. She had her day ALL PLANNED OUT AND ORGANIZED!

20130624-233959.jpg

She is a godsend!! πŸ™‚

Good night!

 

2 thoughts on “National Writing Project- Day 13

  1. Girl you are so far ahead of me! I don’t know how you find the time to tweet, blog and do NWP. πŸ™‚ It’s neat that we have had such different experiences yet we both learned so much. Today I am doing a quick blog about journalling which is my biggest take-away from the section but I haven’t had time to blog about my experiences much at all. I have enjoyed reading your updates. Maybe we can both enjoy a little summer time next week! πŸ™‚
    ~Brandee
    Creating Lifelong Learners

    • Brandee,

      My last day of #NWP is Thursday- so sad! I’m headed to your blog to read about your journaling! I feel like my brain is on overdrive and won’t stop! BUT I am going camping and canoeing this weekend and can’t wait!!!!!!!!!!!! πŸ™‚

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

