Home » Book Chats » Teach Like a Pirate Chat/Podcast

Teach Like a Pirate Chat/Podcast

Teach Like a Pirate: Increase Student Engagement, Boost Your Creativity, and Transform Your Life as an Educator

The Teach Like a Pirate twitter chat was tonight, and it was FULL of awesome ideas!! πŸ™‚ If you couldn’t take part in it, they will storify it. Look up the hashtag #tlap. Β It will be next Monday night also for the next part of the book. Monday-July 15th-8pm CST.

There are several #tlap chats going on right now. I’m not sure about all of the times so here’s the days:

Tuesdays-#elatlap Β  Β  Language Arts

Wednesdays-#sstlap Β  Β  Social Studies

Thursdays-#scitlap Β  Β  Science

Isn’t this exciting???

I’ve downloaded my copy of the book on my kindle, but haven’t read it yet. It is NEXT on my list though and hope to start it by the weekend!!

After the twitter chat tonight Dave had a podcast on youtube with #EDUallstars. IT.WAS.EXCITING.

He talked about his book AND we got to play a card game magic trick. And it worked! OMG! Here’s the podcast if you want to watch it. All you need are 7 playing cards and a permanent marker. Do it. πŸ™‚

Here’s Dave’s blogΒ if you want to read more about this inspiring author WHO IS STILL TEACHING IN THE CLASSROOM. Oh, yeah!

What are you excited about doing in your classroom this year???????????

 

 

14 thoughts on “Teach Like a Pirate Chat/Podcast

    • Brandee,

      I finally felt able to breathe Sunday evening and yesterday. Got some house stuff done. Now ready to go at it again! πŸ™‚

      Some colleagues and I are meeting today about math standards. I hope to learn lots since I’ve never taught math!!

  1. I usually have a lot of energy and am upbeat until February hits. For some reason all the patience, fun, and energy is gone. I have just started to read this book and hopefully I can figure out how to
    Keep the rest of the year as fresh, exciting and ” ungrumpy” as the first half. πŸ™‚

    • Wendy,

      I think we all hit that slump!!! πŸ™‚

      Maybe we can go ahead and plan something exciting for that time so we can look forward to it. And I mean plan and get together early so everything is ready!! πŸ™‚

      I’ll be thinking on that one!

    • Amy,

      I can’t wait to start reading it right after I read Who Owns the Learning!!

      The podcast last might was so energizing and fun! πŸ™‚

    • Barbara,

      Thanks!! πŸ™‚ I don’t know how cheery my next post is going to be-Common Core Math Standards! πŸ™‚

  2. This was a great podcast. I wasn’t aware of it, but am going to look for more on the book. I’ve really enjoyed reading it. Thanks for sharing!
    Michele

    • Michele,

      I would LOVE to attend one of Dave’s workshops!! I think I’ll watch this podcast again right before school starts to get myself energized!! πŸ™‚

  3. The book really got me thinking about ways to add even more engagement into class. I too really enjoyed participating in the chat this week there were tons of great ideas that I marked as a favorite so I wouldn’t forget about them. It was also fun watching the live feed. Did you end up with the X card?

    Heather
    room 4 imagination

    • Heather,

      YES! I ended up with the x card and screamed louder than when I was throwing the cards out! Lol! Did you?

  4. I just bought the book for my Kindle! Thanks for sharing all these great book titles!!!!!!!!! THANK YOU, SHANNON!

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

