Home » What Are You Reading » It’s Monday-What Are You Reading? 7/15/13

It’s Monday-What Are You Reading? 7/15/13

Here we are with another chance to share wonderful books with each other thanks to Jen and Kellee over at Teach Mentor Texts and Sheila over at Book Journey who both sponsor this great meme each week for young adult/children and adult respectively!

 

Professional Books:

Writing about Reading: From Book Talk to Literary Essays, Grades 3-8Everyday Editing

Breathing In, Breathing Out: Keeping a Writer's NotebookMechanically Inclined: Building Grammar, Usage, and Style into Writer's Workshop

Guided Math: A Framework for Mathematics InstructionBeyond the Textbook: Teaching History Using Documents and Primary Sources

Middle Grade/YA Books:

Bounce

Adult Fiction:

Still Missing

These books are what I’ve read since June 18th-my last IMWAYR post. I haven’t even made a dent in my PD pile of books I want to read this summer! But I’m going to the beach in a week so hopefully I can knock out some more then. As much as I LOVE to read PD books and WANT to read PD books, my brain is feeling the need for a vacay FROM PD books. 🙂

What I’m Currently Reading:

When Kids Can't Read-What Teachers Can Do: A Guide for Teachers 6-12

THIS book is absolutely fantastically fabulous! When Kids Can’t Ready by the famous Kylene Beers. How did I ever miss this one?

It’s written as a narrative with student transcripts provided so you can actually “hear” and “see” how kids think!

She also begins and ends EVERY chapter to a former student that she feels like she failed. I just cried while reading one of those letters.

I.LOVE.THIS.BOOK.

LOTS of practical ideas/strategies that I can’t wait to try with my 6th graders! 🙂

5 of 5 stars to this one even thought I’m not even finished!

What are you reading?

 

27 thoughts on “It’s Monday-What Are You Reading? 7/15/13

  1. You may not feel you’ve even made a dent in your PD stack, but this reader is impressed! Just headed over to Amazon to add Breathing In to my wishlist. Thanks.

    Here’s my It’s Monday. Love to have you stop by!

    • Deb,

      Breathing In made ME want to write!! It’s not like it had any lessons for the classroom, and yet it made me think about my classroom writers. It’s more of an inspirational writing book, and one that made me question my method if teaching writing!

  2. Whoa! You have been busy reading PD books. I think it would be perfectly natural to take a break from it for a little while. Thanks for sharing your thoughts about When Kids Can’t Read. I will have to pick that one up soon. I have the two Jeff Anderson books on my PD to-read pile for this summer too. What did you think of those?

    • Andrea,

      OMG!! Jeff Anderson knows his stuff! I would love to go to one of his workshops. I’ve read these 2 and have another one to read-10 things Every Writer Should Know. You’re going to love his books!!!

    • Majanka,

      Still Missing was great with a startling plot twist, but be prepared for the sickening content. Along the lines of ROOM and the Jaycee Dugard story.

  3. So this is a comment on your last comment but … I started the audio of Room and couldn’t finish it. Too creepy with the little kid voice. (Says this one who usually goes for creepy … but FAKE creepy, not possibly somewhere in the world someone is dealing with that kind of creepy creepy.)
    Now. I must finish some of my PD books. I have a big ol’ stack (I did take a pic at the beginning of the summer but never submitted it!) and it’s still sitting there. Stuff I OWN gets put off for stuff from the library every time. Even when I’m liking it.

    • Angie,

      ROOM freaked me out, too, and I didn’t even listen to the audio. I liked Still Missing way more than ROOM. And I’ve got SOSOSOSOSO many books I want to finish before school starts. Good thing I’m headed to the beach next week. Eat. Read. Swim. Eat. Read. Swim. Repeat. 🙂

    • Kathy,

      I need to make a dent in my review stack-which is probably not as big as yours but I do have a few. I’m even part of a blog tour for this Sunday and haven’t read the book yet!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Headed to your blog to check out your reads now! 🙂

    • Holly,

      You will LOVE Notice and Note-so practical!!!!!!!! And I bought Kate’s Revision book last summer and never read it. Thanks for reminding me-I NEED to read it since I’m charging up for a great year of writing!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

    • Reshama,

      You will LOVE When Kids Can’t Read!!!!!!!!!!!! I read Comprehension Connections a couple of years ago-she has such hands on ideas. I need to reread that one!

      Ok-this is going to sound harsh, but I would say no to Beyond the Textbook. And the biggest thing I took away from Guided Math is to do guided math. 🙂 It seemed to be written like she was trying to convince you that guided math is the way to go with all the research behind it, but I didn’t find it helpful. Just saying. 🙂

  4. Enjoy your books this week. I finished What the Spell? by Brittany Geragotelis (4/5 stars) last week. This week I’m reading Solaris by Stanislaw Lem, Fields of Elysium by A.B. Whelan, and OCD Love Story by Corey Ann Haydu.

    • Gigi,

      Being part of the National Writing Project in June helped nudge me with the PD books or it carved out time for me anyway! 🙂 I’m changing A LOT in my classroom this upcoming year so there are so many books I want to read! You will LOVE Notice and Note!! Kylene rocks! I think I might buy Joy of Planning. Have you ever read Assessment in the Reading Workshop Classroom (I think that’s the title) by Franki? It’s great-I need to reread it!

  5. Another reason I love visiting #IMWAYR blogs is seeing how passionate and dedicated the librarians and teachers are to make sure they’re doing everything they can to make their students book lovers and lifelong readers!

    • Thanks Earl! I try. 🙂 I just hope it carries over to my 6th graders. That’s a tough age. They want to be cool, they’re interested in social aspects of school. The list goes one. But they’re still MOLDABLE. 🙂

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

