Home » What Are You Reading » It’s Monday-What Are You Reading 7/29/13

It’s Monday-What Are You Reading 7/29/13

Here we are with another chance to share wonderful books with each other thanks to Jen and Kellee over at Teach Mentor Texts and Sheila over at Book Journey who both sponsor this great meme each week for young adult/children and adult respectively!

 

I haven’t participated in this since 7/15/13 so these books are for the last 2 weeks!

Professional Books:

The Book Whisperer: Awakening the Inner Reader in Every ChildWho Owns the Learning?: Preparing Students for Success in the Digital Age

The Reading Zone: How to Help Kids Become Skilled, Passionate, Habitual, Critical ReadersReading Ladders: Leading Students from Where They Are to Where We'd Like Them to Be

Teach Like a Pirate: Increase Student Engagement, Boost Your Creativity, and Transform Your Life as an Educator

Picture Books:

An Ordinary Toad's Extraordinary NightNight Is Coming

Cloudy With a Chance of MeatballsThe Three Little Wolves and the Big Bad Pig

Scaredy Squirrel Prepares for Halloween: A Safety Guide for Scaredies

Upper grade books:

SidekickedRump: The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin

Young adult books:

Cryer's CrossBefore I Die

Elementary books:

Skinnybones

Talk about some EXCELLENT and AWESOME books!

Yes, I was at the beach for 4 days so I was able to get lots of reading in there. 🙂

My reviews for all of these books are on my goodreads page which you can go to HERE.

I am CURRENTLY reading R5 in the Classroom and about to start Book Love.

R5 in Your Classroom: A Gui...Book Love: Developing Depth...

Trying to get in all the PD books I can before school starts because then I’ll be like a crazy lady! 🙂

15 thoughts on “It’s Monday-What Are You Reading 7/29/13

  1. I really enjoyed both Sidekicked and Rump and had planned to read the Scaredy Squirrel Halloween on Net Galley today but got caught up in a Harry Potter weekend on TV. I suppose they are leading up to celebrate Harry’s birthday. Me too.

    • Julee-

      Can you believe I have NEVER read any of the Harry Potter books? Or seen the movies? GASP! That’s never been my genre, BUT….

      That was the 1st Scaredy Squirrel book I’ve read-LOVE him!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Greatlist of books. I just re-read “Book Whisperer” and “Book Love”. This were two of the most helpful books I had read. I am finishing “Readicide” by Kelly Gallagher. I highly recommend this book. I loved “Cryer’s Cross”. It was consistently checked out last year”R5″ I am not familiar with it. I have “Reading Ladders” yet to read this summer.

    • Sandra,

      I want to get Kelly Gallagher’s book with the Articles of the Week. Have you heard of that one?

  3. Excellent and awesome are exactly the words I would use to describe your read books, too. Atwell’s book was inspirational, and I always make sure to re-read certain sections before the new school year begins. November’s book is on my TBR list…but I have all August.

    • Andrea,

      TLAP is SO inspirational!! Gets the creative juices flowing. In Who Owns the Learning I took away several things I “want” to try with my kids this year-we will see if I’m able to pull it off. And not in the depth that they talked about. 🙂

    • Amy,

      I LOVE the rap part of R5!! I’m so excited to be giving reader’s workshop a try this year with my 6th graders. 🙂

  4. Unfortunately we still don’t have Book Love in our libraries here in Singapore but will definitely recommend it. I’m glad to see a lot of familiar titles in your picture book loot here. Cloudy with a chance of meatballs is a classic. The Book whisperer also seems like a book I’d enjoy. 🙂 Enjoy the rest of your reading week!

    • Myra,

      And unfortunately I usually end up buying my PD books!!!!!!!!! I don’t think we have ANY PD books in our library close to me. 🙂

    • Ricki-

      AND I’m headed to the lake next week! Are you more jealous??? 🙂 LOL! But all this reading has put me behind in actually preparing for the school year. I have a to do list that’s a MILE long. 🙂

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

