Home » Common Core Standards » The Real Reason Behind CCSS

The Real Reason Behind CCSS

There’s been a lot of talk about the common core standards. Rigor. New levels of thinking for our students. Rigor. Getting our students ready for college or a career. Rigor.

I’m putting a new spin on all of this. MAYBE the makers of the common core standards just wanted to shake things up a bit with us teachers!

I mean- think about it. How much have YOU discussed the standards? How many times have you had to REREAD a standard to REALLY understand it?

Maybe this “close reading” of texts begins with a “close reading” of the standards. Maybe they just wanted us to see how students feel during a first reading of a complex text.

For example, look at this 6th grade math standard below!

I may just be speaking for myself here, but without prior knowledge, multiple close readings, and many discussions, along with quite a bit of research, I wouldn’t have any idea what the new math standards say. I still don’t. Teehee. πŸ™‚

So think of how our students must feel sometimes. Especially our struggling ones.

All I’m saying is that I’ve developed a new appreciation for what I expect my students to do each and everyday in my classroom.

And maybe THAT is an underlying theme or goal of what common core is all about.

20130809-232421.jpg

13 thoughts on “The Real Reason Behind CCSS

  1. Yeah…. really like that one…… had a few sleepless nights trying to figure out the best way to teach it. We finally sat (3 intelligent, well seasoned math teachers) and looked through a variety of CCSS math textbook samples. Ironically, not one of the books handled that standard the same. Honestly, we took a bit from each, simplified it, and presented it the best we could. Now, even after having worked with it, taught it and assessed it….. don’t think we did a good job. 😦

    • Dori,

      We are ditching our math textbook and using some teacherspayteachers stuff. The textbook is TOO wordy!! I just hope my 6th graders don’t regress by having me for math this year. πŸ™‚

  2. Shannon,
    Always here to help you when you get to those standards! Mean and Median measures of center aren’t too bad, but interquartile range and the variability piece were difficult this year. They will get those in 7th grade next year as well.. so no worries about complete mastery.
    I agree with really having to look at the standards.. even with 6th and 7th grade teachers (6 out of 10 of us) who have undergrad degrees in math we’ve had several department meetings that have focused on “unpacking” the standards and what they really mean!
    Michele
    Coffee Cups and Lesson Plans

    • Michele,

      That’s good to know that we aren’t STUPID! πŸ™‚ I mean these math CCSS standards are somewhat ridiculous. πŸ™‚ And yes I will be calling on you!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. I completely agree that the standards are incredibly hard to understand! They are packed with vocabulary and are very complex. This year will be my first year teaching CCSS as well, so we can figure it out together! I’ve had to remember that no matter how confused about the standards I am, that someone out there is just as confused as I am! πŸ™‚

    • Jamie-

      Do you teach 6th grade, too????

      My coworker and I are ditching the textbook (Gah-it looks like a college textbook!!), and are planning on using some stuff he found on teacherspayteachers. What do you use?

      • Oh, I think you are going to love Word Nerds!!! I need to type up the vocabulary routine that I’m going to use and post it near my pocket chart for easy referral! That’s what happens when you get over 40!! πŸ™‚

  4. OMGoodness…I’m a parent to an 8th grader and I can’t believe how difficult math is with Common Core. My husband looked at the textbook and echoed the same words….too much mumble-jumble…we’ve had countless days on Khan Academy and youtube to figure out homework assignments. …it’s going to be tough….ugh! I love your post and also the other teachers input. Thank for sharing your thoughts! PS …I’m in Mississippi…this is our first year in Desoto County.

  5. btw, I’m helping my 8th grader create an interactive notebook he can take with him to class everyday….I hope this way, taking notes will be simpler…right now they’re a HOT MESS! πŸ˜‰ I don’t know if it will work but anything other than have to work thru his CCSS textbook is a blessing!

    • Calligraphy-

      You made me laugh out loud! πŸ™‚

      I’m thinking about changing up my math structure/routine, but even if I pull from the textbook I will NOT have students look at it. Gah!! They would need 17 ADD pills to get through 2 pages of it! πŸ™‚

      We are creating a notebook entry for each new skill. The kids sort if zone out during this time but it’s a must so they will understand the vocabulary and concept of the skill each week.

      They LOvE working in groups!!

      Good luck with the 8th grade common core!! I do NOT envy you!

      By the way we found a great video on purple math.com. Haven’t looked for more but that 1 video was simple and straightforward! Helped me! πŸ™‚

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

