Home » Reading aloud » A Long Time and a Read Aloud

A Long Time and a Read Aloud

Has it really been over 2 weeks since I posted?????????? This ALWAYS happens when school starts. It’s my most difficult and demanding time of the year! 🙂

I have so much to tell you, but I don’t want you to get bogged down in a post that reads like a novel…….

So for now I will just say:

I. LOVE. 6TH. GRADE. AND. TEACHING. THE. SAME. STUDENTS. ALL. DAY. AND. ALL. SUBJECTS.

SO. FAR. (Disclaimer here) 🙂

Our 1st read aloud (novel) of the year is How To Eat Fried Worms.

322351

The kids love it. Very short chapters. Very disgusting. Winner.

And I would LOVE to have them eat some worms after we finish it. You know-the sour gummy worms. But maybe covered with something that looks like dirt??? Fun stuff!

Stay tuned for more updates to what is shaping up to hopefully be the most fabulous year EVER!

What’s your first read aloud for the year??

6 thoughts on “A Long Time and a Read Aloud

    • Amy-

      NO-I didn’t run!!!!!!!!! 😦 I was so busy this summer and slacked on my running and didn’t want to kill myself. 🙂

  1. Hi Shannon: I am SO glad you like teaching the same kids all day (It’s one of the things I love most about teaching sixth at an elementary school!) I hope that you have a great year and that everything falls happily into place! ❤ Kim

    • Thanks, Kim!!

      8th day is tomorrow! Love it! I’ll be calling on you for math help at some point. Right now we are just reviewing 5th grade skills, although I don’t think some of it was taught in 5th grade so we will be practicing, practicing, practicing. 🙂

  2. Yay for the same kids all day! I can’t imagine what you do when you don’t have them like that! I’m glad you’re experiencing it and liking it. My first read aloud always changes, but this year I went back to There’s a Boy in the Girl’s Bathroom by Louis Sachar. Funny, about school, and everyone can relate to something in it. Plus, there are great lessons you can learn together about how to treat each other and how bullies are sometimes made from lonely kids who just gave up on being included. Here’s to a great year!

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

