Home » What Are You Reading » It’s Monday-What Are You Reading? 9/2/13

It’s Monday-What Are You Reading? 9/2/13

Here we are with another chance to share wonderful books with each other thanks to Jen and Kellee over at Teach Mentor Texts and Sheila over at Book Journey who both sponsor this great meme each week for young adult/children and adult respectively!

I feel like I’m always saying this, but my last IMWAYR post was on 7/29/13!!! I’ve got to get better about this!

And with school starting on August 12 (teachers) I’ve just been so busy that I haven’t gotten in a lot of reading. Until last week. And then BAM! I’m back in the swing of things. Partially because I’m now trying to keep up with my 6th graders and what they are reading. 🙂

Middle Grade

The World According to HumphreyThe House on the Gulf

Coming Home (Heartland, #1)Shiloh (Shiloh, #1)The Landry News

Hard to pick a favorite from the middle grade books: LOVED Humphrey(the class pet who keeps a notebook and pencil in his cage so he can take the tests like the students!!)-Heartland had me CRYING!- Can’t wait to read the sequel to Shiloh.-The Landry News put a different spin on the elementary classroom setting that’s found in many books-The House on the Gulf was good but maybe not as good as I expected. 🙂

Young Adult

The Pull of GravityThe Next Door Boys (Next Door Boys #1)

LOVED both young adult books!!!!!!!

Professional

Write Like This

And of course-I loved my PD books. Always do. Always will.

What have you read lately that you think I might like???

10 thoughts on “It’s Monday-What Are You Reading? 9/2/13

  1. I love the Pull of Gravity!!! My students do too. I met the author on Twitter and that’s how I found out about the book.
    I
    Shannon, did you get ideas for writing from Write Like This? I have the book, but haven’t used anything from it yet.

    Have you read The Shadow Children series? The first is called Among the Hidden. I loved that series!!! (By Haddix)

    I think I have Heartland in my room. I’m going to read it! I just finished A Fault in our Stars and The Poison Apples. (7th and 8th graders turned me onto them.) Both were great!

    I must read Shiloh now!

    Aloha!
    Cindy

    • Cindy,

      Haven’t implemented much from Write Like This (loved the book and plan on it!), but I have modeled writing for them more in 3 weeks than I ever have in a whole year! 🙂

      I read the 1st 2 books of the Shadow Children series a couple of years ago and want to finish the series out. Just had a 6th grader from the other class come to my room today to check out one of them. 🙂 I loved the 1st 2 books.

      Haven’t heard of The Poison Apples, but The Fault in My Stars made me sob like a baby!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. I love reading Andrew Clements! I also read most of Eoin Colfer’s books to my class (or sometimes I collect them just for myself)

  3. I just finished Write Like This and have a whole notebook of notes. I am currently reading Close Reading of Informational Texts by Sunday Cummins. A student recommended From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, which I really enjoyed.

    • Musing Runner,

      I need to read something about close reading of information texts!!!!!!!! 🙂 I started the Mixed Up Files a couple of years ago and never finished it-guess I need to pick it back up!

  4. Oh my goodness. Way to go on the reading even with school going!
    I like Humphrey. And yes … House on the Gulf was sort of meh. Next up for me will be finishing Jeffrey Brown’s Jedi Academy, I think.

    • Angie-

      I’ve got a student that I’m REALLY competing with to see who can read the most books this year. Right now we are neck in neck (that’s a southern slang term!). 🙂

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

