Home » Writing » Real World Writing Part 2

Real World Writing Part 2

Someone asked if I would share what is on the cards from the previous post so I thought I would just write another post to explain it a little more . πŸ™‚

Today they worked in groups to match the cards that have the types of writing on them to the actual samples of writing.

598816_206997746144208_1334016734_n

 

I would share the cards that have the writing types on them IF I COULD FIND IT ON MY LAPTOP!!!!!!!! I think I left the document open, and then my kids used my laptop and closed it out without saving. πŸ™‚

So, I will list some of the writing types off the top of my head (which is 42 years old so don’t expect much!)

Personal narrative/email/blog post/advertisement/informative speech/business letter/friendly letter/postcard/fictional narrative/feature article/how to directions/recipe/persuasive and argumentative letter/letter to the editor/AND I CAN’T REMEMBER ANY OTHERS, but there were 21 types. πŸ™‚

2 groups matched all of them correctly, 1 group missed about 4-5, and 1 group matched about 10 of them incorrectly. πŸ™‚ I will say in their defense, I did NOT give them time to READ all of the samples completely. They had about 10 minutes? Or a little more?

They were very engaged! Now let’s hope they are that engaged when they learn how to WRITE like these samples. :).

I’m really going slow with our writing this year. Baby steps.

How do you introduce your students to the type of writing you want them to be able to write???

 

3 thoughts on “Real World Writing Part 2

  1. Great idea! I am also going very slowly. We are just getting to our first real piece that we are taking through all the steps of the writing process next week. I have been front loading like crazy and can’t wait to see what they produce.

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

