Home » Writing » Student Writing Examples

Student Writing Examples

I’ve never done this before and am embarrassed to even admit it! I’m talking about putting up good student writing in our classroom as examples.

I took part in the National Writing Project this summer- what a life changing experience!

It was all about modeling writing for our students, giving them examples/models to imitate, feedback, group work, and student choice.

So I’m trying to bring all of this into my 6th grade classroom. I’m taking baby steps, but hey at least I’m moving forward. I’m not moving backward, and I’m not standing still.

I’m trying to incorporate writing across the curriculum- math explanations, writing about our thinking while reading, bringing English into our writing instead of isolated concepts, written reflections on science content, writing I history, writing, writing….

It’s a slow process-baby steps- because the kids aren’t used to writing like this, but I think it’s gonna be worth it! πŸ™‚

Our walls are going to be plastered with student writing by the end of this year.

Here’s the beginning!

20130926-215945.jpg

6 thoughts on “Student Writing Examples

  1. Yeah for you and your students. I am doing NWP this summer! When I was meeting with my students over their revisions, I got permission to show their writing as an example piece. I plan on scanning them and using the projector to show them whole class so we can talk about what we like. We have a long way to go, but I think that pointing out strengths will take us far. Thanks for sharing your ideas!

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

