Home » Reading Randomness » Running, reading, and teaching

Running, reading, and teaching

Short post tonight.

Running: Trying to do a “Running with zombies” October running challenge. Run everyday for 31 days even if it’s just 1/2 mile. So far 2/2!! Yippee!

Reading: Trying to expand my “genres” since I’m asking the same of my 6th graders. Fantasy is one of my least favorite genres so…. Started James and the Giant Peach last night. Like it so far! Yay!

Teaching: Trying to keep my head above water as I implement so many NEW things this year. Introduced my kids to “close” reading today with a short passage. Had a reluctant reader LOVE it. The discussing, analyzing, predicting, questioning, annotating. Hooray!

Those are the positive things since I know you don’t want to hear about the negative things. Heck, I don’t want to write about the negative because then I’ll start feeling negative! πŸ™‚

HAPPY, HAPPY, HAPPY!

20131002-230759.jpg

Peanut, my awesome dog, says good night!

7 thoughts on “Running, reading, and teaching

  1. Looking forward to my “close reading” experience today….hope it turns out as good as yours! Love the picture of Peanut! What breed is he? Have a terrific day!

    • Amy,

      I used a 4th grade level EASY passage that I got from a kit the other 6th grade teacher had. I’m talking EASY!! But had to teach how to analyze and annotate so didn’t want them bogged down trying to understand the text. πŸ™‚

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

