Home » Math » Math Routine Notes

Math Routine Notes

I’m at a conference right now and couldn’t go to sleep last night because my mind was spinning with ideas on how I can change our math routine to fit the needs of my 6th graders.

This is the deal. They are all below grade level. It’s my job to fix that. Or work towards fixing it. They have so many gaps in their math skills. The four basic operations haven’t been mastered for many of them.

So we are plugging along learning 6th grade math concepts and still have so many deficiencies.

Time for a change. A big one.

Which leads me to small group/individual instruction. It’s going to have to happen! Otherwise we are just spinning our wheels.

I’m too tired to write much more, but let me say that moby max.com is about to become my new best friend!

My plan is to block off 90 minutes for math and have 3 groups that rotate to 3 stations.

Me, moby max.com, and group practice sheet.

Sounds easy right? Hahahahaha!

THIS is what was inside of my head last night and IT IS NOT THE FIRST DRAFT! šŸ™‚

Yes, I realize I don’t have to have it ALL in place to start, but there’s still A LOT I need to do!! OMG! šŸ™‚

Now hiring. šŸ™‚

Will I be able to pull it off for this Monday?

20131205-232207.jpg

What do you think??

6 thoughts on “Math Routine Notes

  1. When I taught math I had direct instruction that covered the curriculum. That lesson was 45 minutes to an hour long. Then we had “guided math” where I had small groups and we worked on problem solving or filling in the gaps. It was very, very effective!

    • Amy,

      How long and how often did you work with each group?

      This is the thing. My kids ZONE OUT during direct instruction if it’s over about 15 minutes. I’m thinking I’m going to do direct instruction this way:

      Teach while they watch
      Have them work a problem with me
      Have them work a couple with a partner
      Have them work a couple individually

      Pull students in groups based on how they are doing with that skill.

      Let moby max fill in the gaps from previous years.

      What do you think?

      • Amy,

        I’ll probably upgrade to the paid version of moby after the 30 day trial is up. I’m going to wait and see what I lose first. šŸ™‚

  2. Just adding my $0.02 after reading all your great ideas…I have found that Algebraic Thinking by Brian Enright really shifted the way I taught math! It might be worth a google search. šŸ™‚

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

